Closeups From The Garden

in #gardening4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to da garden, eh!

I'm right in the middle of garden season here where I live, and the plants are starting to produce the vegetables or fruits that we grow them for. I'm seeing lots of flowers and immature produce on the plants now. I'm still waiting for things to get large enough, or ripe enough to pick, but that will start happening soon.

I did get my first pickable size summer squash a couple of days ago, they're the first to develop edible produce from my garden.
These are yellow straightneck summer squash. This is the first one that I picked.
DSCN3439.JPG

The plants have several more squash that are getting closer to being a usable size.
DSCN3440.JPG

My winter squash plants are vining out all over the garden now, and they're starting to grow little squash. These won't be ready for harvest until fall.
DSCN3441.JPG

DSCN3442.JPG

The yellow beans are flowering profusely, and putting on beans. I think I'll be starting to pick them soon. You can see a few small beans in with the flowers.
DSCN3443.JPG

DSCN3444.JPG

The green beans are a couple of weeks behind the yellow beans, but they have flowers on them now.
DSCN3438.JPG

I have a lot of green tomatoes on the plants, but none are starting to get ripe yet.
These are the heirloom Black Krimm plants.
DSCN3446.JPG

DSCN3447.JPG

These are the Better Boy plants.
DSCN3448.JPG

These are the Roma tomato plants in the greenhouse. I'm hoping for a good harvest from them this year. I'll be using them to make sauce.
DSCN3449.JPG

These are the Amish Paste tomatoes in the greenhouse. These are good for canning as well as making sauce.
DSCN3450.JPG

I don't really know when I'll start seeing ripe tomatoes, it could be a week, it could be 3 weeks. It's hard to say. I'm just patiently waiting for them to get ripe. I'm not in a hurry because when they start getting ripe, canning season begins. I do most of my canning out in the greenhouse, and canning tomatoes in the heat and humidity is not all that much fun. Doing the canning in the greenhouse does help keep the house from getting all steamed up, so it's worth it for that.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

The photos looked like there was a slight blush on some of the tomatoes....

I think that was mostly the way the camera was catching the light. They're more green than what the picture shows.

Well, then, it will come soon, I'm sure. :))