Finishing a Garden Project, a Raised Bed Rebuild

in #gardening3 years ago

Hello, hivers! Welcome to my garden!

I recently wrote a couple of posts about garden related projects that I was working on. At the time those posts were written, the projects had not been finished yet. This post is a follow up to one of those projects.

This project is from a post from 12 days ago. At the time, I was writing about my container garden, but there was another on-going project that was partly included in the post. I was also rebuilding one of my raised beds at the time. This is that post.
https://peakd.com/gardenjournal/@amberyooper/garden-journal-container-garden-prep-work

I was working on making the raised bed shorter, and using the extra dirt to fill the big pots in the container garden. I was also rebuilding this raised bed at the time. I wanted to remove the end of the raised bed next to my rain water storage tank. The water valve faces the raised bed, so having the bed right there made it a bit more awkward to get to the valve for using the water.

DSCN4656.JPG

I had shortened the bed by putting the end board where the side boards met in the middle of the bed.

DSCN4657.JPG

Then I had torn out the other half of the bed.

DSCN4658.JPG

To continue this project, I decided that the bed could be a little longer, so I added a half length section to the bed. This is the best picture that I have of that. You can see the short box at the end of the raised bed.

DSCN4666.JPG

To finish this project, I put down weed barrier cloth and then used some edging blocks to hold in the cypress mulch that I added to the area where the end of the raised bed had been.

DSCN4668.JPG

DSCN4669.JPG

DSCN4670.JPG

I wasn't satisfied with the way that the edger blocks dipped down as they ran across the opening, so I rebuilt that area and expanded it a bit. I had to pull back a section of the weedblock and fill in under it to bring the level up a bit. I also moved it out about a foot more.

DSCN4714.JPG

Then I relaid the edger blocks in their new position.

DSCN4715.JPG

Then I filled in the new area with more cypress mulch.

DSCN4716.JPG

As you may have noticed, I was also laying a curve on my garden railroad, but that's a story for another time.

That's it for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by to check out this project!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @amberyooper! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is a nice looking job! Love seeing your little railroad in the photos.