Garden Journal, Mid July Garden Report

in #gardening4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to da garden, eh!

It's the middle of July now, the 19th, as I write this post. In the last couple of weeks, we've had a lot of hot humid weather, and plenty of rain, and most of the garden seems to like the weather. It seems that hot humid weather is when corn plants grow the fastest, as long as they get enough water. The potatoes also seem to do quite well with this kind of weather. Too much wet weather does seem to increase the likelyhood of certain plant diseases with bean plants and tomato plants. I haven't had any problems with the bean plants yet, but some of my tomato plants are showing signs of blight, probably from being wet too much.

So, lets take a look at the garden. The first thing I'd like to show you is the growth of the corn plants in the past 2 weeks. Keep in mind that this is Bloody Butcher flour corn, and the plants will get 10 to 12 feet tall.
this picture was taken on July 5.
75b.JPG

Taken July 10.
710.JPG

Taken July 17.
717.JPG

This corn grows fast! Sometimes I think that if you went and sat in the middle of the corn on a hot humid night when it's quiet, you might be able to hear the corn squeak from growing so fast...

Here's a look at the red potato plants in the side yard garden.
DSCN3397.JPG

A look across the main garden. The yellow potatoes are growing quite well now.
DSCN3398.JPG

The winter squash patch is sending vines out into the corn and potatoes now.
DSCN3400.JPG

The pole type dry beans are starting to climb the trellis strings now.
DSCN3402.JPG

The carrots are growing nicely, even after having half their tops eaten off by the deer a couple of weeks ago.
DSCN3405.JPG

The green beans are just not doing as well this year as they did last year. Not all of the seeds came up, and they just don't seem to be growing as well as they should be for this time of year. I'm still hoping for a decent crop, time will tell.
DSCN3406.JPG

The yellow beans in the big pots seem to be doing well. The plants have started to flower, so I should be seeing little beans soon. The tomato plants in the raised bed behind the bean pots could be doing better. I think they get too much shade from the big tree in the back yard. They are putting on tomatoes though.
DSCN3407.JPG

The greenhouse tomato plants are all doing well so far this year. There's quite a few green tomatoes on them. I don't expect to see any ripe tomatoes for a couple of weeks yet.
DSCN3409.JPG

I'm not in any hurry for things to start getting ripe, because when that happens, canning season starts. It's too hot right now to want to do any canning just yet. Hopefully, the heat will become more seasonal for this area pretty soon, I'd like to see some days in the high 70s instead of high 80s and horrible humidity.

That's all I have for this garden journal report, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

That corn is amazing! Everything looks great! Nice update.

Thank you! :-)

Your garden is looking great 👍 I agree, I don’t want to have to harvest too soon, here in Upstate NY the weather has been the same. Hot and humid with a good amount of rain.
Our veggies are doing great .
Enjoy your day

Thank you! :-)

It looks great to me!

Everything looks great!
I would definitely sit and listen to the corn :)

I know, right? :-)