Mulching the Community Garden Plots

in #gardening4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my page!

In my last post, I talked about getting out the chipper/shredder to start shredding leaves for garden mulch. I'm in the process of shredding leaves for both my home garden and my community garden plots. There's not much to shred up at the community garden, so I've been doing the shredding at home so far.
DSCN3876.JPG

The leaves are just starting to fall from the trees here, so I still have a lot of leaves that I can shred for the gardens. The neighbor's tree started early, so I've been taking advantage of that to be able to get more leaves this year.

I decided that since I had a nice pile of shredded leave already, that I should take some of them up to the community garden and start mulching up there as well. I have all the potatoes dug out of the garden there and the ground has been raked out fairly level to be ready for the mulch.
DSCN3880.JPG

I had 3 empty totes available for hauling leaf mulch to the garden, so I filled them up and headed up to my garden plots. Here they are, ready to be dumped out and spread around.
DSCN3881.JPG

There's not a lot to the process, you just dump the tote on the garden where you want it, and then spread it out with the leaf rake.
DSCN3882.JPG

The boards on the leaf mulch will hopefully hold most of the mulch in place on windy days. Eventually it will get wet enough from the rain to stay in place without the boards.
DSCN3883.JPG

The 3 totes didn't quite cover half of the plot with the thickness that I wanted, so I'll have to bring up probably 5 more totes for this plot.
I also have a bunch of corn stalks from this garden that will be shredded. I might haul the shredder up to the community garden to do that after I get all the stalks pulled out of the garden. That might be simpler than hauling the corn stalks down to the house, shred them there, and then bringing the shredded stuff back to the plots. It looks like there will be several dry days this week, so I should be able to get all of the corn stalks pulled out by the end of the week. That tends to be a harder job for me now than it used to be. I'll need to take the digging fork up there to loosen the root balls so that I can pull them out.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Looks good, if I had a chipper like that I would do some raised beds filled with a specific woodchip or material, keep it moist, and see what mushrooms pop up from it. Might be an interesting experiment. Look forward to more updates!

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7000 replies. Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP