Low Stress Training My Pepper Plant

in #gardening3 years ago

In order to help my Aji Amarillo plant get some more sugars produced by the chlorophyll in the leaves, I've decided to try some low stress training (a technique normally associated with growing cannabis).
IMG_20210505_162130_DRO.jpg

Low-stress training is a way to increase the yield of a particular crop without causing too much damage to the plant, such as pruning/topping (a form of high stress training). With this spicy pepper plant, I have "topped" it once during its early vegetative stage (cutting off the very top of the plant to produce more shoots), and it actually healed itself in a way that seems like I haven't topped it at all (although it is growing two separate shoots extremely close to where I cut it).

A few days ago, I found some loose "string" of rubber lying around on the ground and I decided to use that to tie down the plant close to the rim of the container. Noticing today, it seems to be trying to regain apical dominance at the "top" of the plant, but near the base of the stem it seems that the plant is trying to grow new shoots as quickly as possible. From my perspective it is growing faster than the apical buds. Currently, there are no flowering buds just yet but I'm pretty impressed by how quickly the plant is bushing up by simply tying the plant down and letting the leaves get more sunlight.

It's just a small little experiment and I hope to try more of this in the future, with far more plants. I'll definitely do an update on this later on.

Sort:  

Nice!


Posted via weedcash.network

Thanks! I'm just trying out some new things as I learn more about how plants react to these changes.

Great idea lol! Looks to be responding well so far! Maybe I'll try with one of my peppers.


Posted via weedcash.network

What's interesting is that when you look for such 'techniques' as this, its generally ALWAYS in reference to getting the most out of Cannabis plants. There aren't many resources available (both text and video) regarding tying down plants for new growth. Although, there are videos on grafting Tomatoes, but that's to ensure that the branches don't break.

Yeah ive never seem this done on any crop besides cannabis. Unless you count Bosai trees I guess. Im gonna try it with one of my peppers too. Ill let you know how it goes.

Congratulations @esecholito! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!