Life coming up

in #gardening4 years ago

onions!

I continue to be amazed that following simple instructions gets results. The leafy earth that you can see here is what sat in my compost bin for a year or so, just one day at a time, tipping kitchen waste and bits of paper and garden clippings in.

The green bits are the tops of onions that I planted last week. For those not following, I did without sourcing and buying seeds and followed the instructions I found online for re-using the bottom bits of an onion that would normally have gone in the aforementioned compost bin. After a couple of days getting the roots going, they were plunged into the soil and now look at the little beauties, sprouting up towards the sky. It's hard to see the scale, but these are actually less than an inch long, but still they keep growing and for sure, when they're ready to come out I'll be dancing around the garden and showing you all the results.

It's almost as if this were a completely natural process that's been going on without me for hundreds of thousands of years. Astonishing!