Lilium Tigrinum Splendens

in #gardening4 years ago (edited)

I photographed this Lilium Tigrinum Splendens in July 2019, when I was on vacation in Russia.
Blooming Lilies, Irises and Roses are very often seen in the courtyards.

I really like tiger lilies, but this does not mean that this particular lily is my favorite.
Gardeners say that Tiger Lily needs to be planted away from most other varieties of lilies.
Since Tiger lilies are natural carriers of the mosaic virus, they are therefore dangerous for many other varieties of lilies.
The mosaic virus is transmitted to other plants by sucking insects.
And therefore, the gardener needs to know which lilies are susceptible to infection of this virus, and which are resistant to it.

The height of this lily is about a meter and above. Flowering is very long, as the flowers bloom alternately.
Lilium Tigrinum Splendens is one of the most unpretentious.

I was very interested to know if she had a scent, so I sniffed her and caught a very weak aroma.

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet

IMG_20190715_140444-.jpg

IMG_20190715_140440-.jpg

IMG_20190715_140444+.jpg

IMG_20190715_140444+-.jpg

IMG_20190715_140444-+.jpg

Sort:  

These have been one of my favorite flowers for a long time. I grow them too. From what I understand, they grow best in ditches to catch rainwater run-off, and the sloped land also helps the long stems stand upright. The little bulbils probably roll downhill and into streams, where they can grow on the edges. Sometimes they are called Turkish Caps. Usually I provide something for them to lean on because the stems will snap easily if gravity pulls them down, and they sometimes do not grow back if they snap early.

20190721_154637.jpg

Yes, we also sometimes call them Turkish caps.
It is strange to me why they are called that.
Thanks for the additional information.
This lily is really beautiful.

Funny! They remind me of octopus! Weird!

Lilies are beautiful but so many of them are so poisonous to cats :(

Yes, unfortunately....

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment