My free time 2: The rest of the porch plants.

in #gardening3 years ago

I'm still having problems with my picture uploads, but instead of whining about it and waiting for the problem to go away, I decided I'll just quit being lazy and save my post before each photo upload.

So where were we? Ah yes, the indoor plants. Here are our lemon trees, which started as little 3" twigs about 5 years ago. They haven't grown very fast, but they're still alive, and the leaves are a great tea additive. The plant that's tipped over is the old celery we've had for a while now, which I featured in this post showing how fast thirsty celery recovers when you give it a drink. The little vine that looks like a crack in my house is from the onion vine, which is where the last post ended.

20200731_190205_HDR.jpg

We have an abundance of Christmas cactus, and here you can see a couple of them nicely framing my $500 Honda that was featured in this post about some light 😅 brake repair.

20200731_190230_HDR.jpg

The green thing in the pot below is a ZZ plant, which I just learned stands for Zamioculus zamifolia. They may be the the hardiest plant there is to grow. The nifty purple and green vine is wandering jew, which is not so hardy, but propagates pretty much everywhere its leaves fall. Both of these are among the plants we hope to sell a few of this winter.

20200731_190252_HDR.jpg

This is one of a pair of magnificent philodendrons we have, which I hope to persuade my other into dividing up and also selling some of this year. They really help bring the jungle feel indoors for us.

20200731_190259_HDR.jpg

Did I mention we have extras? At the bottom right of this photo is one of our snake plants, which are slow growing but beautiful, and are the only thing hardier than the ZZs. They tolerate any level of water or light, just don't let them freeze and look at them once in a while, and they will keep living.

20200731_190310_HDR.jpg

Here we have dumb cane on the left and right, plants that we were worried about losing a few years ago. Now I'm hoping that I can split and sell some of these along with the philodendrons. In the middle are two of our peace lilies, which will hopefully be another seller.

20200731_190319_HDR.jpg

Here among the mess below those dumb cane is another peace lily (bottom left), two giant aloes that need to be repotted, and an African milk tree that is about 4' tall now. It was a bit bushier, but finally got a trim that left us with a good cutting to try selling.

20200731_190328_HDR.jpg

A few mints, some sage, those milk tree cuttings, some parsley, and several jade tree cuttings. This is the island of misfit plants.

20200731_190357_HDR.jpg

Of course, there are always more.

20200731_190411_HDR.jpg

If it seems like a lot, just imagine, that was when they were outside! To help accommodate this, we recently cleared a bunch of furniture and shuffled some things around... here's a little taste of how we spend the winter indoors.

20201123_172937_HDR.jpg

That'll wrap up another post. With our indoor renovations nearly complete, I get more time to play in the mud. That means the next post will hopefully be about the rocket mass heater, which I hope to finish before things actually get cold around here.

I hope you are all well, and I hope you all come back for more.

Sort:  

You have some cool plants! I like the red jews. I used to have some but they died out.

Congratulations @paradoxtma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hi paradoxtma,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.