Garden Update

in #gardening4 years ago

IMG_20200919_140800.jpg

Fall is starting but that doesn't mean it's the end of the growing season. The ayocote bean is in bloom and there are still more scarlet flowers to come.

IMG_20200919_140912.jpg

The second crop of raspberries is still going. I have to beat the squirrels and ants to them. I always find winter ants, which thrive in cool weather, feeding on the fruit.

IMG_20200919_141015.jpg

I'm starting to think that the goji berries like the cooler weather as well because they have some new growth going after not really doing anything all summer.

IMG_20200919_141215.jpg

This is the compost corner. I think there is finished compost at the bottom.

IMG_20200919_141432.jpg

Unfortunately turmeric does not like the cold and I have to bring it indoors. It also has potatoes in it which are ready to harvest.

IMG_20200919_141445.jpg

I like creating a while little ecosystem on the soil. Springtails (and even fungus gnats) have moved in to my pigeon pea pot.

IMG_20200919_142715.jpg

I've been stung by 4 yellowjackets this year. They're very aggressive.

IMG_20200919_201118.jpg

I don't mind the paper wasps though. They are less aggressive and territorial even when near their nest.
In other news, my lucky bamboo is starting to grow again, which is a good sign.

IMG_20200919_145542.jpg

On that (good) note I leave you. Hopefully my newfound luck will aid in my pea germination efforts.
Until next time.

Sort:  

Your current Rank (51) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 46%

Remember to keep an eye out for wild rose hips, there are quite a few out where I live. Perfect for tangy tea. Were you trying to remove the yellowjacket nests?

Are they the tiny rose hips? I have one of those roses in my garden that I brought from the forest but apparently it's invasive. And no I wasn't trying to remove them. Two happened when I was watering plants, one I nearly stepped on, and the last sting I was sitting on the grass eating a hotdog and the wasp got stuck in my sleeve. Thanks for the reblog!

Yike you have bad luck with the wasps lol. I have a hive on my balcony but they don't seem to care about me even when I'm bbqing. The tiny wild invasive rose hips are pretty tart and good for tea, high in vitamin c too.

I haven't tried the tea yet. I'll put it on my to do list.

They are better when they are still somewhat fresh and just finished turning red. Also be sure to filter them a lot of little pollen grit parts comes out of them after boiling.

Thanks for the tips!

You didn't win this week, but everyone gets prizes, regardless! https://peakd.com/hive-190931/@improv/punday-monday-169

Thank you.

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors