First harvest of Autumn

in #gardening4 years ago

I have been focusing on Steem and recently Hive too much and have neglected worms and garden this year. The Australian bush fires and then rain storms didn't help either but these are just adding to the excuses 😝

Anyway, my backyard is still growing crops that require little maintenance and Autumn is a great season as a lot of them are producing thanks to the wetter and less hot weather.

Chokos (aka Chayotes)

As my trip to Vietnam during January/February was delayed, my backyard was left unattended for a while during the heat of summer followed by torrential rains. Some plants died, some thrived like the Chokos that spread out in all direction covering other plants. I had to trim back a little bit but with the threats of COVID-19 I didn't trim too much and allowed the vines to crawl a path through the garden and reach under the BBQ roofed area. I moved some vines away so that we can still make some BBQ and use the rocket stove without killing them.

Chokos vine crawling everywhere

Today, I got my first harvest of delicious chokos and there are still plenty on the vine that I will harvest in the coming days.

Chokos on their vine

Chayotes on their vine

First harvest of Chokos

At least for today and tomorrow, we have a nice harvest of eight nice fruits. We will eat them boiled and stir-fried as usual.

Tahitian Limes

The dwarf tahitian lime tree is the most robust plant I have in the backyard. It's giving fruits almost all year round. The last batch is now ready for pick up.

Tahitian limes

Ever-bearing Mulberries

The two potted mulberry trees are giving fruits again. It had fruited only twice this year. Probably lacking of water and nutrient earlier on in the year.

Ever-bearing Mulberries

Last batch was used to make jam, this time we will be eating the berries as there are less of them. I will try to add more compost to the pot and also some mulch and horse manure to enrich the potting mix during the winter season.


I'm a Team Australia member

Sort:  

Lovely pictures and nice to read this story. It makes my mouth water. It's past 4 PM here and time to start making some pizza dough for tonight's home made pizza.

By the way, the chokos look like what we call xuxu ( pronounce as shoeshoe ) in Portugal but I'm not 100% sure if it's the same fruit/ vegetable.

See you around,

Vincent

Homemade pizza = Yumm
In Vietnamese it’s also called Su Su which depending from which region you are can be read as “shoe shoe“ too. So I’m pretty sure it is the same thing

Interesting, I guess it must be the same (family) then.

In Portugal people tend to add it to soup ( at least that's what I was being told and what I did with it ).

Hello @chuochuy, this is @notconvinced on behalf of Natural Medicine.

Wow, not bad for being neglected. I love your backyard. Mine will some day be grown in that thick.😀

And a big thanks for all the help you give the NM Community. You are much appreciated.


BWdivider.png

Earn Instantly For Writing Good Natural Health Content

We'd be delighted if you'd participate in our Weekly Challenge, where we ask about your perspective on a specific topic. This weeks topic is;

AFTER THE VIRUS: What Can YOU Do To Improve Your Chances When The Cage Door Opens?

If you would like to earn rewards for sharing your natural health content on www.naturalmedicine.io, you can sign up for a free FREE account by emailing [email protected]. Read more about us on our Welcome Page. We support writers sharing about herbalism, TCM, yoga, meditation, vegan and other healthy diets, as well as earth centred practices such as foraging, permaculture and biodynamics.

Please consider delegating to help keep this collective going. For any questions, come ask in our friendly Discord here !

newhearttranssmall.fw.png

Yea mine is growing like a jungle lol. Does not look tidy but it's giving food :-D

WOW! - lucky you live in NSW, great climate for that kinda food! What do you make out of chokoes? I bet your wife makes something amazing out of them!

We like them boiled because they are so sweet as is. We also stir-fry them with beef. We usually won't cook them too long so they remain crunchy.

I love Chayotes, and use it in several dishes! I think I will do a cooking post using Chayotes as a main ingredient. You have a great garden @quochuy!
Be safe and take care, my friend🥰🌺🤙

Some chayotes recipes would be amazing!

Wow! Would like to try that mulberry jam... :)

It's really nice. I don't even think you can buy it in shops, have to make yourself.

Wow !

you're garden is super beautiful and so well-stocked !

Chayotes are sooo good, love to cook them, even simply cooked in hot water, it's delicious !

Bravo for this awesome garden work ! Be well :-)

Thank you :-D
Chayotes are indeed yummy even when simply boiled.

they look pleasant in the eye. do you use fertilizer to grow it

Worm compost and horse manure mainly.
Occasionally seaweed / fish fertiliser.

wow Mulberries are so mouth-watering.

Excellent work. I live in a downtown condo, so not much space to grow a proper vegetable garden, but I have managed to grow some peas, tomatoes, and kale in the past 😆

Having a little garden is so satisfying. I hope you’ll get the opportunity to have another go in the future

wow, amazing garden. i hope i'll have one. Tuyệt quá anh ơi.

Có vườn rất vui, khi được ăn thì càng vui hơn 😆

hihi, em cũng có trồng rau nhưng em trồng trên sân thượng á anh. bên em còn đang lạnh nên chưa trồng được. nhìn anh trồng thấy ham quá.

I have never heard of a Tahitian lime before, perhaps a new discovery for me lol. I think it's a good thing you have a mulberry tree, I love mulberries♥️

Wow! I am impressed! Your garden is vet green looking like a jungle!! That big fruits we don’t have in Thailand!

We have lots of mulberries but never enough to make jam. You should have a mango tree!

Cheers.

The big fruit is called sayongte (ซายองเต้) or fak maeo (ฟักแม้ว).
My garden is too small for a mango tree. I trim my mulberry trees every year so they don't grow too big.

Hahaha! Very good! You actually looked up the Thai name for me!! Yes, I have heard of this fak maeo before! I have just bought some fak seeds last month. I will have to
investigate which taste better! We boil them; you fry them too!?

I have to trim my five mulberry trees three times a year! They grow very fast. These fruits are very big and sweet, I prefer them to be slightly sour!

I am impressed that you have the time to plotter around the garden. You have a rocket stove! Could you show a pic?! I have been thinking of building one in the garden, though we already have a charcoal stove (it gives out so much smoke!)

Any way, stay safe and healthy!

Best.

Thank you very much! I did have a good look yesterday! You did three types of rocket stove!

We have no bricks with holes like those in the US. The problem is that it will have to be in a dry place, or under a roof! I have to sit on this for a while!

Much appreciated for sharing your designs.

Best.

(Just realised that my proxy voter on witnesses need to be updated!)

The holes in the brick is not important, I'm using them because I collected plenty of them. Dry place is not required either, although you won't be able to use it when it's raining if it's uncovered. Thanks for the vote :-)

Thank you for the feedback!

Have a nice day.

Wow! Glad your garden survived the bushfire season. I see that you planted the chayotes in a big pot. How big is it? I have always thought trees need to be planted on the ground.

Just a question, if that's all right. My pumpkin plant died. What can you recommend for me to do next time so the pumpkin plant won't die? Did I water it too much or is it the hot weather dry weather here that caused it to die?

It's a little metal garden bed you buy in gardening shops. It's about 1.2m x 0.90m in size and is installed on top of pavers. The pots you are seeing are mainly for the turmeric and black turmeric plants.

I see... I thought they were part of the chayote plant. Haha! Everything in your garden is always flourishing.

It's been a while since you wrote about your BSFL hasn't it? Remember a while back when you grew okra? Is that low maintenance?
Be careful with adding the horse manure. Manure can contain a be lot of salts.
Good luck on your garden!

Hey, year BSFL didn't go well this year. Too much smoke during the summer due to bushfires. Then the rain flooded my setups while I was away for a month...

I only add horse manure during the winter season and it seems OK so far.

Sorry it didn't work out.
I want to do it the free way and try and lure some BSF to lay their eggs in a trap.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @hafizullah and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Nice write up...cool garden

Hi @quochuy, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON