Sort:  

Thank you! 😊
It's pretty hard to go wrong by picking da U.P. to homestead, especially the southern part. When you get too close to Lake Superior, it tends to shorten the growing season a bit more. That and they get more snow than we do...

I like snow. ;-)
My husband, on the other hand... lol
Actually, I like the Keweenaw. And, as it turns out, I have an ancestor who was from Calumet (though I fell in love with the area before I knew this.)

Interesting!
Calumet isn't what it once was, but it's still a cool town.
I'd be happy to live up in the Keweenaw for about 6 or 7 months of the year. :-)

I haven't actually visited much of the UP in person - only just over the border once in the mid-90s (in winter.) I was living in Madison at the time. But I've loved everything I've seen - including the webcams... as well as the culture. Maybe one day!