Sort:  

In the case of Steemit we all know what happened and expect what's coming, at least they don't have a selfie of me holding my ID and copy of my ID, both faces, in their records. What they have is disturbing enough, what others have is more disturbing, what others do with the data they collected is way more disturbing; most of that data they collected without by direct consent, some of it with direct consent.

You must have heard of the murder of the Saudi Khashoggi in his own country's consulate in Istanbul, the Saudis got his full details through a combination of data collecting software using his Twitter account and WhatsApp on his phone. They got that info with the help of the Israelis. They also copied Jeff Bezos data, and other Saudi dissidents abroad.

We should be very careful in the way we provide our information to all these online platforms. A wallet called Uphold linked to the supposed to be more secure and privacy protection web browser Brave asks for your selfie holding your ID and you should trust them. They blocked me when I asked for the same info from their board of directors, I'm supposed to trust them but they don't trust me!

Name a tech company that collected your data that didn't have a major leak exposing your data, the worse part they leaked your data to unknown hackers and not only to security agencies.

Steemit has my email address, my pen name and a roaming mobile number I have, that's it. Not that I was foreseeing a change in the company's ownership that the data they have on me is mine but at the same time is not that easily traceable, unless they tie up with a western spy agency, it's just because of what I learned from hacks and leaks the likes of yahoo half a billion account details which until today I'm sent ransom demands showing me they have one of my very old passwords I used the, or that of Academia, and the multiple Facebook breaches, and the fact that Twitter employees sold the Saudis data which was obvious to follow Yue acquisition of a considerable number of Twitter shares by a Saudi prince at the time, and others.