Jason Mewes From Jay and Silent Bob Has 10 Years of Sobriety

in #gem4 years ago

Surrounding himself with good people even if they drink or they smoke is a major part of what motivates him to stay sober.


Jason Mewes Congrats to 10 years of sobriety




116432790-1334384060090798-6394988801489451108-o


You can take a look at his Instagram here @jaymewes

After a relapse in 2010, Jason Mewes had the chance to reinvent himself. He launched the podcast Jay and Silent Bob Get Old with longtime collaborator and friend, director Kevin Smith, as a way to stay accountable in his recovery.
♠️
Before that relapse, Mewes said he’d been sober for “almost five years.” But apparently it was a lonely endeavor.
♥️
“I told [Kevin] at that moment in time when I’d relapsed, I wasn’t really accountable to anybody. I wasn’t going to AA meetings or anything,” said Mewes, who is best known as Jay of Jay and Silent Bob, the inseparable best friend duo who appear in all the Kevin Smith classics: Clerks, Dogma, Chasing Amy, Mallrats, and in 2001, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back.
♣️
The traveling podcast draws audiences all over the world. Mewes says that at every show, at least one person thanks him for helping them stay sober. “That’s something I didn’t expect. I had no idea it would help other people,” he said. “That’s been a really amazing part of this whole process. I really dig it. Not to mention that Kevin and I have also gotten to be better friends.”
♦️
Though the nineties stoner icon doesn’t usually dispense advice to listeners, he did say that “surrounding yourself with good people even if they drink or they smoke” is a major part of what motivates him to stay sober. His friends know better than to hand him a joint or a drink, he says. “I can be around drinking, and I can be around smoking and not even think about doing either one.”
♠️
But the temptation isn’t as easy to resist when it comes to heroin and other opioids, his drugs of choice. “The opiates are my downfall,” he said. “So if they were popping pills in front of me, I can’t imagine I’d be cool with that. But marijuana and drinking and stuff, I’m okay with.”

Screen-Shot-2020-07-29-at-11-22-41-PM


▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▄ ▃ ▂

Please visit my website or call 888-343-6693

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

Sort:  

Congratulations @recoveryinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators