Lily Allen Drank So Much She Could Taste The Difference Between Water & Vodka

in #gem4 years ago (edited)

"I'd never really been a drinker before. I'd always been a drug taker, and the drinking was an accessory to doing drugs. I realised, 'Oh, fuck, I haven’t taken any drugs for ages, but I’m drinking a lot'. I was drinking a bottle of Grey Goose a day. It was really bad."

Screen-Shot-2020-08-21-at-1-18-17-PM

👁 Lets take a look at this cutie... The Sober version is much better 👁

HUGE @recoveryinc shoutout to Lilly Allen. She is a true star of sobriety.


You can take a look at Lily's Instagram here @lilyallen

Lilly Allen 🇬🇧⁠
English singer, songwriter, and author.⁠

Lilly Allen mentioned that alcohol had become a way of self-medicating, when other aspects of her life weren't going to plan, such as her marriage. I totally can relate to that myself. If it where not for for the drugs I probably would have blown my brains out years ago. I was self medicating back then cause I couldn’t deal with life. Thank God I made it out of that and Thank God Lillys cute self did as well.

Screen-Shot-2020-08-21-at-1-19-18-PM


@lilyallen has never shied away from speaking about using drink and drugs during difficult periods, most recently documenting her struggles on her fourth studio album No Shame and in her frank autobiography My Thoughts Exactly – both released in 2018.⁠
♠️⁠
She said one of her lowest points came during her Sheezus tour in 2014, where she would drink vodka with only a splash of tonic so often that she couldn’t taste the difference between her own beverage and her drummer’s glass of water.⁠
♥️⁠
Speaking to GQ in 2018, she explained: “I never really had been a drinker before. I always had been a drug taker, and the drinking was an accessory to doing drugs.⁠
♣️⁠
“I realized, ‘Oh, f**k, I haven’t taken any drugs for ages, but I’m drinking a lot.’ It had become that bad.”⁠
♦️⁠
“I was drinking a bottle of Grey Goose a day. It was really bad.”

Screen-Shot-2020-08-21-at-1-23-57-PM

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Please visit my website or call 888-343-6693

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Screen-Shot-2020-08-03-at-11-37-04-PM

Sort:  

I think the hardest road to take in life is the one where you let go of addiction. I can't even imagine how hard it has to be! I love reading your posts!

It’s definitely an interesting road.
At first it was very peculiar to me to hear people say they were proud of me for getting sober. I mean think about it they’re proud of me for what I should’ve been doing the whole entire time.
Now I realize that was my own self-esteem holding me back. I should be proud that I’m sober and able to help others and I am.
I am proud that I was a junkie as well because I have found a way to allow my own troubles of my past to give purpose to my life today.
I’m happy that you enjoy my post and would love to hear what you have to say about my poems that I have posted.

Sometimes I wonder if in the furure we will be forced to neutralize pronouns.

He is a true star of sobriety.

I was wondering for a second there:

Dude looks like a lady.

She is fine... the sober self.

On another note I like the way you personalize these articles. It makes it easy to relate. I was lucky enough not to know vodka by brand but just as vodka. My memories of vodka are hovering over that porcelain thing spewing the night away. The hot pepper 🌶 vodka was bad.

Hahahahahaha oops forgot the s there. Thank you for pointing that out.
You might be right about in the future being forced to neutralize pronouns.
Hot pepper vodka sounds like a nightmare. You should be fortunate you were lucky enough to meet such a horrible combination.

Everyone has their own story, but I have to admit I couldn't have made it without the grace of God. Suddenly my memory was jogged. I was 17 and a nice friend invited us to her house. We came stoned and within an hour finished off all the alcohol in the house. Somehow someone found half a bottle of Smirnoff red pepper vodka in the freezer. Within an hour after drinking that I was so sick the next thing I remember is being kicked out of the house and being carried home. It was a nightmare in which I saw myself from outside of myself and didn't want that person to be me. I never want my kids to go through what I went through.

Man I am sorry you had to go through that, but you probably are happy you did just to put it all into persecutive for you. Sometimes I wish I never got wrapped up in Drugs Alcohol and a life of crime, but then I realize I love who I am today. It took me going through all that craziness to get me to who I am today.

^-^ Glad to know you