Guilt

in #gems4 years ago (edited)

Greetings to the #Hive community

*This is my first post in English for the #Hive platform; in fact this is barely my second Hive post, after a long hiatus during which many things happened both in my country and in the blockchain.*

I feel like a child who goes back to school after a long absence. Nervous, but also with enthusiasm, I long to reunite with the old friends to feel at home again. I’m also looking forward to meeting new people, especially writers and artists. Here I leave you a story. I hope you enjoy it.

Guilt

imagen.png

Fuente

The patient stood up from the couch and went straight to sit outside, next to his wife, near the secretary.

He saw them leave with their heads down; they had no money to continue with the treatment.

He knew the patient would succumb without therapy, but he didn't stop him, then he felt guilty about it.

He left the office but did not go home as usual; the bar emerged as a life saver in the face of depression.

Sitting at the bar he ordered a beer —Maria likes them too—he thought.

He felt bad for not having invited her. He took the beer and drank it almost in one gulp. It was cold, delicious.

imagen.png

Fuente

He remembered after the third bottle that the nutritionist had forbidden him such drinks; he regretted he had drunk them. He thought about how bad his abdomen looks, like a pregnant woman’s; the gases, the belt…

So he started the engine and headed home, feeling guilty for being the way he was.

The urge to urinate made him stop at a gas station. On his way back he was almost hit by a red convertible: it was his euphoric patient with a drink in his hand. Two friends of him came out of the sports car, also with drinks in hand.

"Doctor," said the patient aloud, "these are my friends. I am the happiest man in the world, and all thanks to you; I will do what you told me, I will behave as if this is the last day of my life.”

He got rid of the patient as best he could, and continued home.

When he arrived home, he found himself alone. On the table the was a note from his wife:

Honey, I could not get in touch with you, because my phone battery died; I went to Chini’s bachelorette party. I'll be late.

Chini was the most desired girl in the group. He liked her from college, but he never dared to tell her anything; now chubby Antonio will marry her. He took off his clothes, went to the refrigerator, had a beer, poured it into a glass, watched the frost cover the glass, drank it with gusto, went to bed, and spent the whole night happy, without guilt, dreaming of Chini.

imagen.png

Fuente

Thanks for your reading

Sort:  
Loading...