There is a hidden gem off South Australia called Kangaroo Island

in #gems3 years ago
}

If only I could boast about a fun trip to Kangaroo Island but I sadly I can't, no it did not happen for me because travelling interstate in Australia is still full of uncertainties as to whether borders will be up or down. It was @shasta's #boulderSunday yesterday so I decided to celebrate rocks and boulders with photos taken by my daughter after a recent trip to the Island.

I figure that for me who was not a part of the trip, the next best thing is enjoying the photos and pledging to go one day when the world is in a different place to check out these rocks and boulders.

New Note.jpeg

New Note.jpeg

New Note.jpeg

The little port to catch the ferry or barge is approximately a 1 hour and 40 minute drive from Adelaide. The barge trip is slower taking 40 minutes compared to the faster ferry. Taking your car to explore the island over a weekend or a week would be a lot of fun. It is an island with a lot of history, like for example the indigenous population left the island yonks ago. The British settlers arrived in the 19th and 20 centuries.

Currently the population is about 4 to 5 thousand according to the the 2016 census. A lot of money is made through tourism with more than a million tourists holiday on the Island. There is a flourishing wine industry for visitors to do some wine tasting.

New Note.jpeg

New Note.jpeg

There are 4 functioning lighthouses on the Island.

New Note.jpeg

It is an Island with a lot of character and warmth.

New Note.jpeg

Sending everyone good wishes

Cheers and Blessings

<center>..............................................................</center>

*This is a post from Suzanne Reynolds on Facebook. The little blurb says - "You can choose to live life in the first, second or third row.*

Facebook.jpeg

Sort:  

I love that last shot!!!! Isn't that the truth!!!!!

Looks like a lovely island to visit! I wonder how COVID has affected its tourism business?

Our shutdowns have devastated so many businesses, many aren't surviving. :(

Hi, Angie!

Hi dswiggle, so nice to hear from you. Unfortunately the same here with people loosing businesses. The good thing is that Australia is doing well overall with COVID compared to the States. Tourism in our States is improving with people holidaying locally. My heart goes out to everyone.in the US, so much sadness. Blessings

ps: I like to be a front seater when I can, hahah

Amazing pictures! 😍

Hello @denissemata, the photos are incredibly clear xx

So is!I hope you are well friend

Yes thank you I am - our different way of living continues xx

Wow those are some amazing boulders ❤ @angiemitchell!
It must of been a awesome feeling to be around them! :-)