I found a bass guitar in a dumpster - an undignified death for an instrument not much older than me.

in #gems3 years ago (edited)

Someone threw away old instruments, a bass guitar and other individual electric guitar parts. I'm glad, because I always wanted a bass guitar ;) I managed to find information that it is a Musima 1655 made by Meinel and Herold a design by the MUSIMA group so it is about 60 years old.
(btw. sorry for my english, i know isnt good)

I understand the reason for throwing it away - the bass is very damaged and is not likely to give out a beautiful sound anymore but I can say that I am a musician, since childhood I played electric guitar in bands and now my daughters also play instruments. Admittedly, my break from playing has lasted many years, but the sentiment and the love to music remain. I think this is reason enough not to let this guitar die in such a shameful way.

I took the guitar apart to see what had happened there. The guitar was bolted together with sheet metal screws with sealing washers.... yhym... the ones used to fix metal roof tiles. I'm not judging, maybe it's just that someone tried to fix it as best they could - but failed.


After removing the neck, I can see that the base connecting the body plates to the neck is delaminated. So I guess that's the end of this amazing adventure. What to do, take it to the trash, pour glue and screw it together as much as possible to make it somehowe look ? I don't know. I can't afford a luthier who would make it decent, but I have pretty well developed manual skills and I think I can try to make it look decent even if it won't play anymore. It will certainly find an honourable place in my house among other instruments.

A request to you dear ones, maybe someone of you has knowledge or has friends with some knowledge about repairing such instruments. I need to know what repair is possible, where to start, how to open the sound box without damaging it and replace the delaminated block, maybe someone knows what tools and glues to use so as not to cause more damage. I need all the knowledge I can get, even the ones I didn't ask about, because I have no idea what may await me. I am like a passenger trying to land a boeing without a pilot - theoretically possible ;)
Please ask your friends, please reblog maybe there is someone in our circle of friends who could support me with technical knowledge and guide me on what and how I could do to restore its shine.

This is what she looked like when she was born:
b37cb9f303e439f169b73c6037d8c6a9.jpg

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @arka.noego! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!