Old Things New

in #gems4 years ago

I wanted to go through some of my old photos to share. I picked out a few of my favorites. I figured sharing them here would be a great way to make some Old Things New Again! Here are just a few out of a zillion that were options on the table to choose from.

Cactus Shine.jpg

This cactus was almost semi-transparent when this image was captured. The Texas Sun was glowing hot and bright. The depth and richness of the Green in this shot make it one of my absolute favorites ever. I was squatting trying to get super close and still to capture a macro moment in time. I didn't notice the little spider until after the captures were uploaded.

Price of Beauty.jpg

Sometimes, the price of capturing beauty can be painful! I thought this was a pretty good capture in it's proportion and layout within the composition. The focal range and foreshortening were pretty cool, not to mention the souvenirs I brought with me from the Cactus Capture above!

Wasp Maul.jpg

What would a HIVE post be without some kind of Bee or Wasp. This one reminded me of Darth Maul a little. The purple and blue reflective tones on the wings are pretty awesome. This little dude was not checking out his shadow but digging in this hole in the ground. I am not sure if it was gathering materials or if it dwelled in those holes. Some of the wasps we have here in Texas do in fact have an underground HIVE of sorts.

Fly.jpg

The only good fly is either food for another creature or one captured in a photo with Macro Action! I do like the way flies look up close. Almost all the insects have little faces with personality upon closer inspection. I love the metallic sheen on the thorax. The deep red of the eyes is one of my favorite hues of red. Flies sometimes have these little nubby antennae as well which is kind of interesting. I am sure there is a reason or purpose for that. If you look close you can see this one's five o'clock shadow!

Fly Leaf.jpg

This is not the same fly although they are probably cousins! This one landed on one of my old Bonsai trees that has long expired. This shot is actually much more macro than one would think. The leaves on that particular tree were quite small. It wouldn't appear to be the case but this fly was extremely small. I was pretty surprised to have captured this image considering how fleeting and skittish they are.

I also enjoy how you can see the compound nature of the eye in it's shape and lighting rather than in the detail up close.
Geometry is cool... it's

Iridescence is one of the coolest aspects of the color of insects for me. This next image really captures that in an incredible way. To be honest, it's not the best photograph or macro capture but it does just fine in illustrating the awesome iridescence of a creature I had never seen before!

In fact, due to a ransomware attack back in the day I don't have all of my archives anymore but I had captured a whole colony or HIVE of these things living in a dead stump. Those were some great shots but this one isn't too bad.

Twinkle Green.jpg

Now, to round things off for good measure I like to call this next one The Angle of the Dangle! This caterpillar had been crawling on a concrete pillar. This pillar was part of my neighbor's fence. I was posted up using the pillar as a support to steady myself as I was shooting some photos of this colony or HIVE of Bumble Bees. Whilst leaning on this concrete I found this little dude on the very top. It's about 5 feet high and as you can see it has a pretty treacherous overhang. I have no idea how little dude got up there... but he was scampering across the top and I got some shots of his furry but.

Angle of the Dangle.jpg

He was dangling off the top to see what his options were below to try and work his way down. It was a funny sight to behold. I didn't get so many good captures of him since the lighting was tricky and my little 8 megapixel Canon Powershot wasn't wanting to behave. It was pretty bright out but the shadow of this overhang really made it quite difficult to get the little feller without the backlighting silhouetting him. I think it did a decent job all things considered. I like the little suction cup hands.

These old images remind me of the beauty that I have experienced in the past. I still try my best to remember that beauty is everywhere all the time. It's really just a matter of perspective and perception. This is what makes those old things inspire me to make the pursuits of beauty new again. I hope you found some beauty in the shots and your time spent here has been greatly appreciated. Share something beautiful to you in the comments. Find an old image you have that you could make new by offering up here on the blockchain. Or just go into the rest of your week inspired to seek and find beauty anew! Thanks for joining me y'all. Have a great week!

Sort:  

Hey, haven't seen your username in some time, welcome back! :)

Thanks! I left Sweden and came back to Texas. I am waiting for my residence permit and then BOOM! Covid season hit. Looks like i missed a lot of drama and criminal activity. Super glad that HIVE will be everything STEEM(ing pile) could have been. Glad to be back. I still don't even understand all the changes. Do you have a line on any old posts that might explain the new way of voting and reward distributions? Or any other changes that have occured since the hostile takeover and theft by Sun and his socks? I miss the old group from the Steem chat too. I am on open.hive chat but it's a little slow until more folks come. I did (finally) join the discord so... it's Great to be back! I appreciate you and everyone else that has put so much time and work into building this community the infrastructure that makes it all possible!

https://hive.blog/steem/@steemitblog/hf21-sps-and-eip-explained this is probably the one with the biggest changes, not too much has happened since the hardfork off steem but there's a new one coming up soon with some changes to improve governance.

oh and yeah, join the OCD discord, there should be quite a few familiar usernames there from the old steem.chat days :D

https://discord.gg/y3Vrge

Thank you very much for the invite! Joined and will give a howdy tomorrow. Had a five hour stream tonight and a busy day. I appreciate you man. I did get a chance to read that link and I am going to have to go a little farther back. I was inactive on Steemit but playing quite a bit of Splinterlands and missed a lot of changes. All in good time! hahaha

I love cacti :) I have many cacti. Loving them can sometimes be painful, you right :) nice photos btw.

Thanks for taking the time to read the post and I am glad you enjoyed the photos too! =)
I do enjoy some cacti but succulents are usually a little more interesting to me.

I really liked your post. Excellent photos. Greetings. 😎

Thanks! It's good to see you around. Glad you liked the photos too. Which one was your favorite?

This was my favorite picture. The colors are very nice although I really hate insects but it looks great.