Handsewn Stockings and a Stolen Christmas

in #gems2 years ago

Years ago, we traveled out of state to visit Grandma's for Christmas. Everything was loaded into the back of our van. There were 10 of us in our large family. We were very excited for Christmas, as any family would be. I don't remember how close to Christmas this happened, but it was very near to the actual day. It could have been Christmas Eve. What I do remember is that our van was broken into, and our Christmas was stolen. All of the presents were taken, but the biggest loss were the homemade stockings that our mother had made for us. I was a younger teen when this happened, but I still felt the loss. We used those stockings every year. You could replace everything except for those stockings which held sentimental value.
They were made out of felt and sequins embellished them, and they had our names at the top. This had an impact on me, and when I got married, I knew I wanted to carry on this tradition in my family.
20 years ago, I found stocking kits at Wal-Mart and was overjoyed because I had a map. I am creative, but I wanted something more detailed and this was beyond my skill to come up with it on my own. The company that I have found since that I like is called Merry Stockingsor anywhere you can find the Bucilla brand.
img_0.13416519750842246.jpg
The first stocking was made for my husband, and isn't my best, but it was made with a whole lotta love!
img_0.7523105631857829.jpg

The kits give you all the felt pieces, beads, thread, sequins, and needles you need. You have to put it together.
img_0.8479832973023389.jpg

There are detailed instructions, and there are usually 100+ steps to follow.

img_0.2778168652085116.jpg

Each stocking took me 40(ish) hours to make. You have to handcut the pieces and also do all the embroidery and sequining and stitching. It is a labor of love.

img_0.2140390125407803.jpg

I usually would sew while watching Christmas movies or chitchatting with the family. Through the years, the kids would start asking to help. They have done some sequins and also some stitching now.

img_0.10243540390148982.jpg

My daughter put in the special request for the penguin stocking. I had originally made the snowflake one for her. She wasn't diggin' it, and so we went online and looked at different stocking kits and that is the one she chose, and she loves it.

img_0.030474449020642193.jpg

I have made these stockings about one a year until they were made for all of my kids now. It is almost a Christmas tradition to have me making the stockings.

img_0.509535644987692.jpg

Our tradition with the stockings is like many others, fill them with candy and trinkets for Christmas morning. We usually have them standing up underneath the tree because they are too heavy to keep hanging from a fireplace at that point.

img_0.5893052309962881.jpg

It makes me so happy to have carried on this tradition for my kids. Getting Christmas stolen so long ago really had an impact on me because it was the things that we couldn't replace that really mattered. These stocking hopefully will last years. I don't anticipate replacing them, but I do think I will be adding to them when more family members join the crew. We'll have to see if my kids want to make their own for their families or if they will end up putting me to work.
P.S. I didn't ever get my stocking replaced. I just use a random stocking now, but once I lay my eyes on a stocking kit that "speaks to me," I will probably make my own to complete our collection.

Sort:  

This is a great tradition! What a story too! Bob, you sound like a great big brother, going around looking in the dumpsters. The silver linings in those significant events that happen in our lives is seeing how we bounce back and overcome. I love how you were able to integrate something you loved as a child into your children’s lives. Wishing you luck in finding the perfect one to complete your own stocking as well. And here’s hoping Bob gets around to making his own stockings for himself and his wife one of these years lol

Ha ha ha right?! Don't be a slacker @@@bobthebuilder2. !lolz
I try to find the silver linings in things, it is usually there in even the direst of circumstances. I think there is a lesson in everything and so try to learn and grow from stuff. Sometimes I am more successful than at other times. #human

Knock knock...
ERROR: Joke failed.

@liftslikealady, You need more $LOLZ to use this command. The minimum requirement is 8.0 LOLZ.
You can get more $LOLZ on HE.

My goodness - it's heartbreaking to know that people are so evil!!!! That they would break in during Christmas! ughhhh

and I know how you must have felt - it's not the things that you can replace in the store - its the IRREPLACEABLE things that have meaning that are HEARTBREAKING TO LOSE!!!

Terrible!!!

But my goodness - look at what you did! hehehehe recreating the memory for your family and soooooooooo lovely! you are REALLY REALLY good at this! hehehehe
I'm going to see if maybe @kaerpediem would find these interesting!!! I don't know if they would qualify for DIY?? But look this amazing handiwork!!!!

also - i don't know if you're still looking for people to support, @themarkymark ? But this lovely woman is new - but brought here by veteran Hiver @bobthebuilder2 hehehe She has only been here for a few days, but MY GOSH - she has gone ALL OVER Hive trying to already support people and encourage and engage so wonderfully. She's beautiful inside and out!!! You really can't go wrong! hehehe (and Marky LOL if you're getting tired of my suggestions - just leave a comment for me on my post and say "no more" and i'll know what you mean hahahahahaha) Just love finding GREAT people that are REAL! Love that you're willing to support them and build Hive better with your powervote :) Thanks!!!!

!lolz

I can see the future
But it takes me a while.

@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @bobthebuilder2
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)

Thank you so much. It is amazing what you take from seemingly "bad things" if you change your perspective. I believe there is something good to be learned out of every bad thing. I am finding more rabbit holes to go down. Today, I searched under homemade and found some fun things there as well. I really appreciate your support. It is not only nice, but gracious and generous. Thank you for that!

I started to make one for my wife and never finished it. I'm sure it got thrown away. We just purchased some, but this does bring back memories and emotions. It was the night before Christmas Eve that they broke the glass out of the back window and took most everything. I got you silk boxers that year as they were all the rage, and they were one of the few presents not stolen. I remember driving around to look at all the dumpsters hoping to find those stockings! It was definitely a Christmas where I was taught the true meaning being Christmas. I also learned about insurance and deductibles and how stuff in your vehicle falls under home insurance... crazy Christmas!

thanks for the extra information. I didn't remember everything, but it did make an impact on me. It isn't too late if you guys still wanted to do some stockings!!!!

I just might have the kids make their own...

A hundred steps to put the stocking together??, can we just buy one already please 🤣🤣🤣 a bit too lazy for that.

Ooh wow!!! How cruel 😔 can't believe people can be so cruel to steal socks?,what are they going to do with that? but happy to see you all moved past that.

Sending lots of love and wishing you and your family a great Christmas 😄 thanks to your buddy for sharing this joy of Christmas on the PYPT show yesterday.

No way! Lol. I need these stockings to last a lifetime! They took a long time, but seriously, they will last forever. My husband's is almost 20 years old now. :)

20 years? That's a lifetime 😳 wow!! explains why you would spend so much time making one,I'm sure you would be passing those down to the kids in the future as a keepsake 🤗 it's beautiful.

This is fabulous. Very fabulous.

Making stockings isn't one of the Christmas traditions we have over here. We majorly do shopping, buying new clothes, travelling to reunite with our families (including extended families) and alot more. Heheh.

This stockings tradition must be a very dear one in your heart. It is wholy made with care and love. Well Done.

As for your childhood experience, it must have been traumatic, but I'm glad that it didn't stop you from following your heart and carrying on with this tradition. Heheh.

@dreemsteem brought me to your post 😊😂.

Thank you @dreemsteem for sharing the love! Yes, it has been our tradition for as long as I can remember. I am big on traditions and trying to make memories for the kiddos! Childhood experiences can affect us for good or bad and can follow us well into adulthood. This makes me want to create all.the good that I can for them. Also, thanks for reblogging! That is so nice of you!

awwwwwwwww isn't she great?!?!!

i love her already! hahahaha so glad that you're here enjoying her too!!!

i hope that she will start to come to DreemPort - you should invite her ;)

@dreemsteem, how do I sign up for dreemport/discord? I uploaded the app on my phone, but do I just create a new account, does it link to here?

This is the link you need to get to the discord server https://discord.gg/EyRU7V6

I don't use mobile much. I prefer the desktop but it looks like if you hit the hamburger menu in the top left it will show you the icons for the servers.. at the bottom you'll see a +.. click there to use the link I just gave you

Since you already have the App on your gadget, you can use your email to set up a profile there. You can use the same name you have here to crate the account.

After setting it up, This link will bring you into Dreemport server.

Can't wait to see you there.

This is amazing. Down here we shop for Christmas. I think having your own stuff is quite cool. Imagine making your outfit from scratch to finish. Its so amazing.

I think that would be so fulfilling! I have made some clothes before. They were very rudimentary. My mom helped me make a formal dress before I was 16 to help me learn to sew. I want more time to do these things with my hands.

Your stockings are absoultely beautfiul, I'm so sorry for your loss of something that clearly meant a lot to you but I'm happy you carried the tradition on and made some of your own. I can tell you put a lot of love into these and it's this kind of stuff that really brings the Christmas spirit out in us way to go girl these are gorgeous.

!PIZZA

Thank you so much! It made an impact.on the important things of Christmas and the things I would miss that were irreplaceable. I spent a lot of time on each one, but the kids love them. They are a fun family tradition. I am so glad you like them too!

I love this! What a wonderful labour of love indeed 😍

Thank you! It is a Labor, but it was worth it! It makes me so happy to have them claim their stockings and use them every year.

It must have been so frustrating when those stocking were stolen. Wow! These are very beautiful, your stitching game is flawless

!PIZZA

Oh my gosh! It was so frustrating! Who does that?! With my stitching game, I have so much practice. You can really see the difference between my first one for my husband and the ones I made later. I am glad they are sone, but will still male some more later. I need one still, and maybe I will do them as family members get added to our little crew. I do like making them, they just take a while. :)

Even the one you made for your husband is nice.

I do like making them, they just take a while. :)

Like you said " It is a labor of love."

Congratulations @liftslikealady! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@b0s(3/7) tipped @liftslikealady (x1)
drabs587 tipped liftslikealady (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!