Visiting the Panama Canal #TBT - De visita en el canal de Panamá #TBT

in #gems4 years ago (edited)


Photo taken with my Canon PowerShot 130 IS and edited by me on Photoshop

Hello Hive friends!

For today's post, I want to take the incredibly popular trend that is used in the cyber world of #TBT, or Throwback Thursday, to tell you a little more about myself and the experiences I have had, recalling what I lived at that particular moment.

Today I want to tell you about my visit to the world-famous Panama Canal, which is considered one of the great engineering achievements; the truth is that only seeing what happens there we can understand the magnitude of such a work.

Hola amigos de Hive!

Para el post de hoy, quiero tomar la tendencia increíblemente popular que se utiliza en el mundo cibernético del #TBT, o jueves de antaño, para contarles un poquito más de mí y las experiencias que he tenido, recurriendo netamente a mi memoria de lo vivido en ese momento particular.

Hoy quiero contarles de mi visita al mundialmente conocido Canal de Panamá, que es considerado uno de los grandes logros de la ingeniería; la verdad es que solo viendo lo que ahí sucede podemos comprender la magnitud de tal obra.


Photo taken with my Canon PowerShot 130 IS and edited by me on Photoshop

My trip to Panama was my first trip abroad, I was 22 years old, I had just finished college and therefore I felt that I could eat the world. In this adventure was my brother, my sister-in-law and a friend.

The Panama Canal is a must see, so when the day came, we took a taxi, I remember that the taxi driver gave us an extensive tour of the city, through all those beautiful places that are shown in magazines and also for those not so showy. I can say that that day I knew the city thoroughly.

We finally arrived at the Canal, specifically at the Miraflores Locks, we did a short tour of the compound museum and finally we went to see the wonderful engineering work in action.

Mi viaje a Panamá fue mi primer viaje fuera de las fronteras de mi país, contaba con 22 años, acababa de graduarme y por tanto sentía en ese momento que podía comerme al mundo. La aventura se dio acompañada de mi hermano, mi cuñada y un amigo de mi hermano.

Visitar el canal de Panamá es de por sí una visita obligada, así que llegado el día, tomamos un taxi, cuyo conductor nos dio un extenso recorrido por la ciudad, por todos esos sitios hermosos que se muestran en revistas y también por aquellos no tan vistosos. Puedo decir que ese día conocí la ciudad a fondo.

Llegamos finalmente al Canal, específicamente a las Esclusas de Miraflores, hicimos un pequeño tour por un museo que queda en las instalaciones y finalmente pasamos al plato fuerte que era ver en acción aquella obra de ingeniería.


Photo taken with my Canon PowerShot 130 IS and edited by me on Photoshop

The best thing of all was that, at the time we were there, it coincided with the passage of a ship, which allowed us to see first-hand the canal's operation, the amount of water was leveled from one end to the other, so the Ships could go from one extreme to the other and save time and expenses.

I could understand everything and I was amazed to see it, I remember the imposing boat being guided by one that was really small next to it, it worked as a crane, it was really impressive. I hope I can visit that place again sooner than later.

Lo mejor de todo fue que en ese momento que estábamos ahí, coincidió con el paso de un buque, lo que nos permitió observar de primera mano su funcionamiento, como se nivelaba la cantidad de agua de un extremo a otro, para que de esa forma barcos pudieran pasar de un extremo al otro y acortar tiempo y gastos.

Yo logré entender todo y quedé maravillada al verlo, recuerdo el imponente barco, para mí era gigante, siendo guiado por uno que a su lado era realmente pequeño, funcionaba como una grúa, realmente fue impresionante. Confío en poder visitar ese lugar nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.

Till next post. This series continues next Thursday.

Hasta aquí nos leemos. Esta serie continúa el próximo jueves.

Sort:  

Congratulations @maitt87! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!