The dilemma behind my username

in #gems4 years ago (edited)

A cinephile is someone who's passionate about cinema, the art form of it and all about it. So my name 'not a cinephile' should suggest that I am not one such individual. Actually that isn't entirely true. I am a cinephile but that's half the story.
my courtesy

So, cinephiles can be quite energetic and sometimes they take it to the extreme. They watch film after film everyday. 3-5 a day is not uncommon. It's like devouring with an incessant lust for cinema. I'm not that kind of a cinephile. And there are some who take screenshots of films and post them all over the internet—constantly. I also do not belong to that troupe. Moreover, cinephiles tend to fill their lives with films only and nothing else. Another group often promotes obscure/experimental films belittling known/popular ones and when doing so, sometimes discards the great ones too. I don't condone that line of thoughts.

I like taking my time with a cinema. I re-watch them fairly often. I believe it's important to munch on something that sophisticated. Letting itself sink into me. Perhaps people who watch multiple films a day can also do the same thing without taking a break, but I certainly cannot. Sure, there are easily absolved films like blockbusters that usually leave no impressions. But watching a film by Bergman or Kubrick can drowse you into deep reverie that may last for days.
Also despite my immense love for cinema, I submerge myself in other art forms as well, like literature, music, painting.
True, doing so permits me less time for cinema but I do not regret it at all.

So there you have it. I'm a cinephile but "not a cinephile".


With this post, I'm partaking in the blogging challenge created by @tegoshei

Sort:  

The irony! 🥰 Thanks for joining the fun! Feel free to engage in others' posts... ☺

Thank you for creating the fun challenge! 😅
Yes, I will be looking out for the challenge posts.

You're welcome... Great! It's a good chance to engage with the people on Hive...

Congratulations @notacinephile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You joined already! Let's have some fun while taking this challenge! Also, try posting your blog in one of the communities. In my case, I write post and publish this challenge in the Gems community.

You know, I actually wanted to post in gems but I accidentally posted it on my blogs directly with gems tag. I will post the future ones correctly.

Ohh. I also did that. But it was not accidental. Haha. The day I decided to be active again, I posted three on my blogs directly. I figured it out when I explored Hive. That's when I had a Hive intro.