Safety First

in #gems3 years ago (edited)

I had been showing you guys how to make things with resin. I just want everyone to know that before anything, safety is the topmost priority.

I had been off for the past few days and while it gave me so much pleasure posting my crafts everyday, I am a bit disappointed that I forgot to set that on the last 2 days.

Life goes on.

20210509_051202.jpg

Silicon Mats/ Protective mats

Resin can be hard to remove on surfaces. The reason why I love using silicone mats is that, they are easy to clean up. Back when I have a tile (I used it on my polymer crafts) it was really frustrating cleaning up.

20210509_050259.jpg

Silicon mats are cheap, they are easy to store and, they are so easy to clean- I literally peel off the resin.

UV Lights

A lot of you folks might be wondering why I included these? To say it simply, do not stare at the lamps especially if you have very high voltage watt. Wear sunglasses or, what I do is point it at the opposite direction ( where I can't really see it to reduce eye strain)

20210509_050341.jpg

Gloves and Masks

Even when the manufacturer says that their product is safe on the skin and the environment, I do not take any chances. When I am handling any resin, I have to wear these. Not just a par or 2 pairs but as much gloves as I needed to make a project.

Gloves tear apart, they get sticky from handling too much resin and sometimes, they stain - which transfers on the final product.

Even when you cannot smell anything, I always prefer to wear masks while I am doing my craft. No smell does not mean no fumes. Be safe. Always wear masks.

20210509_050503.jpg

Know your Resin

Yeah, back when I am starting my resin craft, I do not really want to pay attention how to store this and that resin. But there are a lot of instructions on how to do that.

My policy: first in, first out. Meaning, the first resin that I bought needed to be used first before I open others- no matter how exciting they seem to be.

Some of my resins have only 3 months shelf life after opening date. I do not want to stress myself by overthinking on what do to with them before their 3 months are up.

On the same phrase, it is always important to store resin on their original container. Do not mix resins together- unless you are crafting. Mix them when you are doing your craft- not when you are considering to store them.

Even if the resin came from the same manufacturer and they are of the same type, if the old one is mixed with the new ones, it usually damages the new ones.

Know your resin by heart. There are different preparations, different processes involved on their application. When opening a new one, always make sure that you are wearing a protective face shield or, at least a cover for your eyes. You will never know- resin does not splatter easily but then, accidents do happen.

Above all, DO NOT HANDLE RESIN WITH YOUR BARE HANDS UNLESS THEY ARE ALREADY CURED!

This might sound harmless but you will never know what it does to your skin.

I advise anyone who wants to start crafting to read my tips first. I wish someone told me about this before I started but anyway, I am learning. I am learning.

20210509_050701.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

thank you guys!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thanks guys!

Congratulations @nurseanne84! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!