Feathered Beauty

bm17-ildi-2.jpg

bm17-ildi-3.jpg

bm17-FB-342.jpg


The first time I encountered one of these spectacular costumes was at Burning Man 2008.

In the harsh environment that is the Black Rock Desert, I was completely in awe, struck speechless by the arrival of three little birds who landed in the dust in front of the woman as she danced. All around me I heard people gasping, equally surprised and moved by what we all were witnessing. It was a moment I'll never forget.

I've since become friends with the 3 women who regularly dance in these elaborate costumes – always at sunrise – and I make every effort to find them when they do.

Though the costumes are handmade by an incredible artist known as SerpentFeathers, the exceptionally beautiful, always graceful dancer pictured here is Ildiko.


side note – to pre-address something that often comes up when I share these photos:
There is much misunderstanding about the acceptability of feathers at Burning Man. Contrary to widespread belief – they are not banned. While there are many feathers that should never find their way onto 'the playa' (artificially dyed, cheaply constructed, factory-made boas and totally inappropriate, dollar store headdresses, for example) the costume pictured above was painstakingly created by hand – each and every natural feather securely glued in place with care.
In all the years I've been photographing these magnificent works of art, not once have I seen them shed even the tiniest downy feather. Everyone involved – artist, dancers & myself – are all veteran Burners who deeply respect the ten principles, especially 'leave no trace.'


camera: Canon EOS 5D Markiii
lens: 135mmf2.0 Prime
specs: ISO 100/200 - f2.0 - 1/80sec/1/500sec
date / location: 2 September 2017 / Black Rock City, Nevada, USA

Sort:  

Wow. Those are amazing photos. Burning Man seems like such a unique event, and seems like tons of people absolutely love it. Resteemed!

Thanks so much, @photofeed! Much appreciated. :)

It's a breath taking photo. For 5 mins I had to stop all thinking. Fantastic and impressive. Thanks.

Thank you @bigman70! Glad to know you appreciate these images. pardon my terribly tardy reply. tip!

Hi @bigman70! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @zipporah!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Wow. Your photos make me cry. They are so full of emotion and beauty. This is just spectacular. Obviously the costumes are gorgeous, but you know the right light, angle and technique to make them look even more beautiful. I've only seen a couple of your photos and I'm already a fan. Thank you so much for sharing such beautiful work.

Awww @gabyoraa! What an incredibly sweet sentiment. I'm honored to know that my work touches you so. Really – for any artist – what more can one ask for? Especially in a world completely inundated with beautiful imagery, it's pretty hard to stand out. Thank you for noticing the modest bits that I offer.

For more examples of my work, visit my website, instagram or online galleries.

steemit-posts(rw)-4.jpg

Incredible shots, love. I can truly feel the potency and essence of the playa from my jungle cabin here in Hawai'i. Thank you for spreading this beautiful light into the world.
Blessings :)

Thank you @shaktiawakening! I appreciate your ability to read beyond the surface. :)

Beautiful shots! The light is just awesome!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Glad you appreciate them @pcusine! The light is pretty much guaranteed to be beautiful, any sunrise out there. It's worth getting up early for!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 2/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 23:07:07
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 227.58/400.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.42 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful photo!

Omg! I just click in serpentfeathers blog and it's fantastic! I'm in love now! Thank you for share @zipporah

You're welcome! Ka's an amazing artist. Happy to let more people know about her work.

Wow this is such an epic outfit ! And some amazing photos and light also. Would love to go to burning man.

@intrepidphotos – you should come! It's a photographer's dream. Nothing and nowhere like it in the world. Glad you like the photos!

Will have to one day !

These are amazing. Great backlight to accentuate those feathers!

Thanks @aweber! I love working with backlighting. It's definitely challenging, but worth it!

This image is beautiful!! and costumes is amazing

Thank you!

This image is beautiful!!

I'm glad to know you appreciate it. ;)

so suggestive

Beautiful and powerful photos! I love the movement and the soft look.. Nice work!!

Thanks @shadalene!

Welcome! You have beautiful photos, I'll follow. :)

absolutely amazing! thanks! resteemed

This image is beautiful!!! I've always wanted to go to burning man, its on my list for sure! Thanks for sharing.

It's an experience like no other – hope you get out there someday!

amazing vibe!

Beautiful tones, lovely energy...

Wow gorgeous pics!

What a stunning creature! Beautiful!

Isn't she though!? You should see the 3 of them dancing together – one in all white or red, one in natural browns & whites (sometimes with her child strapped to her) and Ildiko, always in the natural darks. It truly is breath-taking.

a real transformation

Absolutely stunning, I am speechless!

Thank you @tobeta! :)

Wow. Breath-taking.

Can I use these pictures, please?
I couldn't help asking.