Harvest Photos from the #GrowFoodNotLawns Garden

in #growfoodnotlawns3 years ago

Suuuuppp Hive Fam! This year was great for growing, except my cannabis LOL! Good thing I don't smoke much anymore because my plants left a lot to be desired.

All my other crops were fantastic though. The best corn we've ever grown by FAR!

IMG_4955.JPG

This was the first carrot harvest, we're still picking them to this day!

IMG_4962.JPG

These guys just LOVE harvesting, it's so great because I'm a little 'over it' hahaha!

IMG_4960.JPG

IMG_4964.JPG

IMG_4965.JPG

The first carrot harvest, one bag cut for the freezer and one large bag for the fridge.

IMG_4968.JPG

IMG_4998.JPG

This was how many carrots were still left after the first harvest!

IMG_4957.JPG

That tomato either lies a lot or is very happy to see me!

IMG_4995.JPG

I didn't have a big final harvest of tomatoes, this year it was pick as I go.

Squash Round 1

IMG_4978.JPG

I ended up giving a lot of these away because there were many more to come and I'm the only one in the house that likes squash.

Squash Round 2

IMG_5059.JPG

IMG_5061.JPG

12 more and some nice potatoes as well from the late potato patch. We harvested most of them months ago, enough to fill 2 big potato bags.

That wraps up the growing season for 2020! How was your harvest this year?

Sort:  

Good to see some garden photos! Mine totally bombed this year. That's ok. I was a slug anyway.
Those carrots look great! And the boys are growing just as fast!

Have no fear! Cap'n InspiraSlug is on his way to you as we speak on his superfast skateboard to give you a little inspiration boost. Hang on... it might take him a minute. You may wanna have a nap while you wait for him to show.

How is Emmy doing????

I think Emmy is dead. But I am not making a final call on that until next spring.
Her spring leaves died in a frost early this year, and she didn't grow any more. I still watered her in the hopes she would ...but she didn't.

Quite the bountiful haul! Cant have too many carrots!

No doubt, I just need more places to store them. Our stomachs will have to do haha!

чудесные овощи, и наиприятнейшие фотки!!
( у нас в этом году, только грибы и ягоды. и еще несъедобные посадки - можжевельник и дикий виноград )

why in Russian?:) you write in English even for me!:) but here for Lynds you use Russian...or I have missed something important, and my Canadian Sys has studied Russian already?:)

i might be wrong; considered they are in the know of it - my mistake then!

No @taliakerch, I am not as talented as you yet Sis! I only know english :))))))))) @qwerrie, I appreciate your comment, I can translate it using a computer.

ps. poppies and corn are among my favorite garden plants, which I rarely see around, unfortunately. it's always a pleasure to see a nice photo.

hehe, well, I hope my little mistake didnt cause nor confusion, neither problems. I recklessly decided that you are also Russian-speaking, like @taliakerch and me :P

Hi lynds,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much!

Such a weird name... "Squash"

Wonder what the deal was on that?

No clue, but funny enough this year my landlord drove over a few of my plants and we laughed a bit about how he squashed my squash :))))))

wow dear!! what a great harvest! here it's the opposite;( one of the worst year for harvest.. it was no rain almost in summer. Though I think there is another reason. We watered our plants well evry 2 days, but still the harvest was poor:(
So happy to see your boys! you're a big carrot and squash lover, yeah?:)) Me too! I try to freeze many vegetables and fruits for winter too. The winter is close:) the tomatoe definetely is happy to see you, and moreover it definetely loves you:))
and corn is great! we tried many times to grow it but nothing. I love corn, but it doesn't love me maybe:)

I think we had so much luck with the corn this year because I used a tonne of composted chicken manure in the beds with corn. They seemed to thrive with it!

What time is supper? I'll be right over just as soon as I replace my bicycle chain.

I'll leave a candle in the window for you 😘

Congratulations @lynds! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

Congratulations @lynds! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge