Being Stuck To Activities V/S Choosing To Do Them

in #happiness4 years ago (edited)

There's a vicious cycle you're probably stuck in right now and you don't even know it, as was the case with me until recently when I got out of it.

Imagine you were a slave but didn't know it.

How would you feel? But that's what's happening, however, until you read this post.

Now it's time to break free.

Habits

Something about which so many books have been written about; so many people depend upon. They're not good for you.

Wait what?

That's right. There's a way to do things without them being habits. Allow me to explain.

Which would you prefer out of these 2 options:

  • Reading 100 pages of a book, every day right after breakfast, no matter how you're feeling.

OR



I believe the choice is obvious?

Knowing why you're doing something

This is the definitive difference when compared to a habit.

the benefits

You will see, if you haven't already:

  • There will be a surge of energy and enthusiasm to do the activity.
  • You will not procrastinate, at all.
  • You'll want to do a lot more, much more than if you were to stick to habits.

In essence, what you are doing is living consciously as opposed to unconsciously.


happy.png
This man read this post.


Storytime

Until today, I'd been feeling like I was all over the place; not knowing what activity to do. Add to that a constant feeling of utter dissatisfaction and you'll have hell in your hands. While all this was happening in my mind, outwardly I was still engaged in the activities I thought I should be doing, basically habits that I thought I should have.
Then, I remembered something. And it all made sense.

When you're lost in a Forest, Stop and Look

2 things I hadn't done so far. And it all fell together; all the self-help stuff I had been consuming until this point, they finally got digested.

Too dependent on gaming

I used to think gaming was what would give me the satisfaction and happiness I was looking for, so I constantly gamed even if I wasn't enjoying it. Desperate hopes that at one point, I probably will.
But I never did.

Because as it turns out, what would truly give me happiness and satisfaction...

...was doing what was needed.


So if you were thinking:

  • How to get over procrastination
  • How to know what to do in life
  • Why am I not happy doing what used to give me happiness before
  • How to be motivated

Then I hope this helped you.