Obligatory Hive First Birthday Post!

As many others have already done, I couldn't let the day go by without at least taking a few moments to reflect on and mark the first birthday (or anniversary) of Hive!


happybirthdayhive.jpg
source


One year ago, on the eve of the launch of the Hive blockchain, I shared a post with some general reflections on the changes to come and my fledgling optimism for the future. The beginning of 2020 was a swirl of negative emotion with the hostile takeover of Steem, crypto's interminable bear market, and the emerging pandemic. Despite 2021 having plenty of carryover of bullshit... there is a lot of excitement and much greater optimism to be found. The very tone of this year is different. Hive is still at the forefront for me as a crucial part of my social network and inspiration. My hopes, dreams and excitement for Hive are as high as they've ever been as I look ahead to year two and beyond!

Following the lead of @nathanmars on Twitter, I had to mark the day with a Hive purchase. It's not something I do very much anymore as I haven't had a ton of disposable income and Hive makes up such a large percentage of my crypto holdings that when I do spend, I always feel like I should diversify! But I gotta admit it feels really good to add a bit more Hive to the stack.


hivepurchase.png


Also on Twitter, I've recently been pimping my NFT Showroom work. A massive thanks to those who've given me a resurgence in sales this past week. @midlet through his @onchainart collection; @shortcut picking up a second copy of "Awakenings," @jackofcrows showing support, and @wil.metcalfe grabbing editions of both of my color prints to date! I'm really looking forward to minting more work, and want to explore ways to reward and engage with folks holding my art in their collections. If any of you has any suggestions of exclusive content or rewards you'd love to see, don't hesitate to let me know in the comment section.


bryan-imhoff_nft.png

I'm slowly creeping toward being sold out in my gallery!


Through my new burst of Twitter activity, I've also been in contact with @nikkinicole, an artist & writer who has enthusiastically embraced @nftshowroom. She's planning an initiative for the coming week for a small group of artists to share, promote, and market their work and I've agreed to participate! I may be a hermit in "real" life... but I've gotta break those habits in this here fancy new digital world! I'll be sharing more about this promotion in the coming week.


nikkinicole_nft.png

A look at the start of @nikkinicole's gallery


I wish I had something more insightful or moving to say on this day... but all I can think of is to implore you to stack some Hive, enjoy some art, eat lots of cake, and imagine the amazing future that could be ahead...

That's what I'm going to do!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff

Sort:  

Hi @bryan-imhoff!

Thank you for the mention in this post! I love your comic art my friend! The NFT's I picked from your galley are prime and I just couldn't pass them up! You are the real deal when it comes to comic creativity and I think that Hive is lucky to have someone with your talents roaming the digital halls! (and yes you can quote me on that! I just love these NFT's!)

I'm guessing that, with the level of skill I see in your work, you have other projects your working on... But do you do 1 off's for people? I'm not sure if you have seen @nathanmars and my #DoubleUP #NFT project... But what would it take for you to help us out!? (Yeah! I'm asking directly... I can't help myself! 😊)

Here's 2 links to a couple posts I created about that.

Latest Post About the #DoubleUP NFT Project:

https://peakd.com/nft/@wil.metcalfe/help-nathan-mars-and-wil-metcalfe-doubleup-teamup-powerup-we-are-looking-for-nft-artists-with-mad-skills

Original Post About the #DoubleUP NFT Project:

https://peakd.com/hive/@wil.metcalfe/a-crazy-idea-that-might-work-you-and-me-2-the-power-of-2-you2-me2--feed-back-please-

Let me know if your interested or not alright! 😄

@wil.metcalfe

Hey @wil.metcalfe, I just gave those posts a quick scan and it is something I'd be interested in! I have another piece I'm scrambling to wrap up, so let me give it some thought in the back of my head and probably the next chance I'll get to sit down, brainstorm, and reach out to you will be Sunday? I'll be in touch.

Thank you for getting back to me about this! This is exciting for me as I am a fan of the art you create Brian! Thank you for taking the time to familiarize yourself with our #DoubleUP NFT project! I’m pretty sure that your going to wow us all! 🙌

I wasn't here then, actually I wasn't aware of hive when it forked. But it's great seeing you, and everyone I know on the chain all nostalgic and festive about it.
Let the communal spirit thrive!

Happy anniversary mate!

We gotta look for any excuse to celebrate nowadays! But it really is amazing how important this little nook of the web has grown to a lot of us.

Indeed! I spend the amount of time I want to spend browsing social media on hive. There's of course hive related discord servers.
And now with the CUB thing, Hive has become a major part of my life.

Good to see NFTs are going well for you. I hear a lot of activity around that, but haven't invested in much myself yet outside the games.

Let's celebrate with a !BEER

My feeds on other social media are a very interesting mix due to NFTs. Since half my follows are crypto related and half are more general comic art and illustration related, I've got front row seats to a culture war from both sides!


Hey @bryan-imhoff, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.