#TravelThursday Ep. 4 Trinidad, Cuba.

in #haveyoubeenhere3 years ago (edited)

This time we're revisiting Trinidad, Cuba!


As part of the #HiveBloPoMo I started blogging about places I've visited during my travels! So on Thursday I'll take you on a throwback trip!

Eventhough Havana takes most of the glory when it comes to Cuba, there are other worthwhile cities you can visit.
About a 6 hour bus ride takes you from the capital to a small historic town called Trinidad.
Not to be confused with Trinidad & Tobago 😃.



The town is famous for its cobble stone city center and historic buildings.
When you get there the first thing you notice is: the low houses. Especially compared to Havana, where you'd see one or 2 story buildings in the city.
These houses were close together in narrow streets. The vibe was lightly 'western movie' - ish.


And when they said cobble stone they meant it! I mean I lightly twisted my ankle a couple of times so ladies heels are a NO GO! 😂.


The internet situation in Cuba was strange by western standards, you had to buy cards that gave you access to an hour of wi-fi. The result? A busy social gathering at all the wifi spots 😃.




Another recommended trip when your in Trinidad is a horseback ride to a natural waterfall. We made the mistake of going by carriage (because my sister is allergic and we figured it would be better than having her sit on the horse).. It was very and I do mean very uncomfy but I'm still glad I did it. The country side is beautiful to see. The waterfall is also cool but this was one of those moments where I know I'm spoiled when it comes to nature, cause when you've been to the interior of Suriname and seen other natural waterfalls, these relatively small ones are not the top highlight of the trip🤷🏾‍♂️.






Another cool thing in Trinidad is that they have a night club in a cave!!
My sister and I went to check it out and get a few drinks. Fun times!



Lastly we made sure to check out a few of the art shops. I'm not specifically one for random clay statues or anything like that, but I really appreciated the paintings.



Hope you enjoyed another trip down memory lane!
And if you've been to Cuba I'd love to hear your stories!


Gyanno

Sort:  

@trangbaby update! I've finally figured out how to add posts to @pinmapple.. I pasted the code in this blog so now we wait and see 😃.
Thanks for the tip!

😍 Yay. You did it. Fantastic trip thanks for showing us the city, Trinidad is cool to visit :))

Congratulations @gvkanten! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool! I'm slowly making my mark!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1060.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hey thanks @ybanezkim26! Appreciate it!

You're welcome! Keep up the good work!

Whoa that is an awesome trip man! I'm glad that you went! I was a little confused about Trinidad, I didn't know it was in Cuba lol then I saw it was another place named Trinidad hehe, the more famous one.

I think one of my favorites besides the waterfall is the cave club! That would be damn awesome to go to!

Keep up the awesome posts man, really liking that you're super active!

Haha trust me, me too.. I only heard about Trinidad when I was already in Havana 😂. The cave was worth it! Weirdly unique experience 😃.




Thanks! I'm enjoying my time and I've kind of found a writing groove. Also slowly learning more about the voting power and curation stuff so it should get even better.

Nice post! I have been to Cuba twice but I didn't go to Trinidad, it will be a destination for the next time :)

Cool! I would love to go again at some point it definitely deserves a few more visits.

Which cities did you go to?

Havana and some nearby beaches, San Antonio de los Baños and Pinar del Río (Viñales). The two times that I have been, I went to study, I did some workshops at the film school, that's why I didn't visit many places on the island, I only had weekends free