The Healing Effect Of Food, Sleep And Unconditional Love

in #health4 years ago (edited)

Now, more than ever, the immune system is in the spotlight. I've heard a lot of advice that I should be supplementing since most people can't get all they need in our modern diet.

I do take those effervescent Vitamin C tablets you drop in water that also contain Zinc and some other such useful stuff. I take one daily and have been taking it since before the corona saga began. This was mainly because I liked the taste, and it encouraged me to drink fluids in more forms than just tea and coffee.

Zinc is all the rage now isn't it. It's come to fame right next to the infamous Hydroxychloroquine.

The COVID-19 pandemic and Donald Trump are the two reasons why most people in Europe and the United States have even heard of this drug. The people living in tropical countries, especially those that have Malaria issues, have been familiar with it for decades. In those places, Hydroxychloroquine, or simply "Chloroquine" is as ubiquitous as aspirin.

fruits.JPG

This article here reveals the top 15 natural food sources of Zinc. There are options for meat eaters and vegans alike. I eat a fair amount of nuts like almonds and cashew nuts, as well as pumpkin seeds. In theory, I am probably getting enough nutritional Zinc without the supplements, but you never really know.

The immune system, of course, has more to do with just diet. Sleep is a crucial factor. If you are regularly sleep depraved, your immune system will be impacted. Stress is another one. It's linked to lack of sleep, but also other physiological and emotional factors. Worrying constantly about the inability to pay bills on time can lower your immune system!. Crazy right?

I never used to take the non-tangible factors seriously until I took a proper look into them. I was also once affected by stress and suffered more from it health wise than anything physical had ever done to me. It was then that I truly appreciated the value of leisure, de-stressing and stopping to breathe. Stopping to breathe, meaning deliberate, conscious breathing.

I'm back to London now, after a wonderful, de-stressing time with family. It was great to see my nephew and niece, who both have a de-stressing effect on me (and probably the opposite effect on their parents haha). There's something amazing about being around people that love you unconditionally - like young children. It's similar, I guess, to the healing effect experienced by elderly folk that suddenly see improvements in their health when they get a companion like a dog. Being loved unconditionally can improve your health. Imagine that.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

distressing

You probably meant de-stressing.

Unconditional love is pretty rare, I'd say. Pretty much only parents have it for their children and children for their parents while they're young and helpless.

Ah! Damn autocorrect. I'll make the edits, thanks.

Yeah, it runs the meaning upside down. :)

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs