The Name's 'Deferens'. 'Vas, Deferens'. ~ #iwishitwasjustacoolspyname

in #health3 years ago

Sounds like European spy name, does it not? But alas, it isn't.

If you "get it", you are either an older male, an older female who is with an older male, or you're in the medical field.

image.png

source

SNIP SNIP

Vas Deferens:

vas de·fe·rens
/ˌvas ˈdefərənz,ˌvas ˈdefəˌrenz/
noun ANATOMY
the duct which conveys sperm from the testicle to the urethra.
source

I go in this Monday for the 'never have kids again' surgery. I am not really looking forward to it, but have been told it's nothing to worry about.

The Dr. I was referred to comes with great standing and over 2000 vasectomies on his record, so my balls should be in good hands.

image.png

source

According to my doc, it's now a scalpel-less procedure.

Two tiny little shots of a numbing agent, a miniature needle nose plyers which is poked in and then stretched, and then a hook to pull out Mr. Deferens.

SNIP SNIP

and it's done. No stitches, no nothing.

Bag of frozen peas on my crotch for a day and Bob's your uncle.

Any boys, er, men?, wanna fill me in on their fun experience???

Say a prayer for me as I say goodbye to my lil swimmers.

Sort:  

There is this guy that my dad used to work for who has a medical procedures practice. He not only does the procedures but he teachers other doctors to do them as well. He does stuff like wart removal and dermatology things, but he also does vasectomies. Apparently he is so good at them that he actually did his own. I don't know how true it is, but that is the story and if you met this guy he is cocky enough that I believe he would do it! Best of luck! I can't speak to your procedure, but I did have a testicle removed due to cancer. It was 15 minute procedure on a Friday morning. I iced it over the weekend and I was back to work on Monday.

Damn dude, that doc sounds like a cock-y guy, lol. I couldn't help myself, sorry.

Ball cancer, for real? That's brutal man, glad you found it early enough where you could take care of it. But that's still a tough card to be dealt I bet.

Yeah it was a pretty crazy time in my life. Not so much the surgery, but the time before that just sitting around waiting for test results and expecting the worst was horrible.

I am three or four years in remission now, so all good! Probably sterile from the radiation, so no vasectomy for me!

Probably sterile from the radiation, so no vasectomy for me!

Talk about looking on the bright side! lol, lucky and unlucky I suppose. I'd probs take the vas over losing a nut, but ya gotta play the hand your dealt.

It's not so bad. I can sit in tight spaces with little discomfort now, so there is that... 😀

Dude, that's a huge bonus. I have something called varicocele, which basically means I have one larger than normal. Nothing wrong per se, just bigger. So tight spaces have always been quite a bitch for me to be in. Middle seat in the back of a small sedan, not fun. Middle seat on an airplane, not fun. I could go on, but ya get the picture.

Oh man, good luck with the snip snip.
It really is a fairly easy procedure. I saw a few of them performed when I worked for a Urologist years ago.
The poor guys were always so nervous, understandably , but they usually were happily surprised how fast they rebounded.
Stay strong and make sure your wife has the bags of peas on ice.😉

Peas are on ice baby! Ice, ice, baby. I've probably said that a handful of times to the wife now and I get the eye roll every time. hahaha...

I'm optimistically anxious and nervous. That sounds weird, does it not? I'm trying to say that I understand that it won't be long, nor really painful. But getting out of my own head is the hardest part. I'm gonna bring head phones and try and zone out as best I can. Maybe some Tom Macdonald, eh @dandays?

Thanks for your kind words, @farm-mom!

Good luck with the procedure.

I'll take that as double good luck @thebigsweed!

I'll take that as double good luck @thebigsweed!

lol, thx dude!

Cool if I get in on this?

Sure man.......sure.

Sure.

Cool if I get in on this?

Good luck with the procedure.

Nuckin futs. You explained that so well my eye twitched.

Dude, Dickey Roberts is one of my favorite movies. "That's nuckin futs!" - classic. The dance routine at the end has to be the best of the movie for sure.

lol, glad I could give ya the rundown so simply bruh.

I actually asked the docs for a vasectomy when I was around 22'ish. In LA. I was told I'd have to take some 6 month course type thing and they wouldn't consider cutting my nuts unless I had two children already or was 45 years old. I had no kids and a few decades to go before I'd qualify.

That's probably about the time I began realizing medical personnel is only it for themselves.

Wtf? That's really weird, although I feel like I have heard similar things from younger people in the past. Like, why would they not want to make money? I doubt they turn away middle aged women for months to contemplate if they really want bigger boobs or not?

Why should they care how old you are or have a set # of kids? Last I checked it was semi-reversible anyway. I just don't get it.

About 20 years ago now man, in City of Commerce actually, LA county. Some sort of lecturing type who knows what about what happens when you cut your nuts something something something. I remember leaving thinking the same thing about why they would turn away the money and, also, why are the telling me what I can and can't do with myself.

Thanks for reminding me. Glad I got to share the is with someone.

also, why are the telling me what I can and can't do with myself.

Ain't that the truth.

Happy I got to hear it!