Why did grandma give her kids cod liver oil? And what do Coconut Oil, Clove Oil and Cod liver Oil, all have in Common?

in #health7 years ago


There are many reasons, but the one at the top of the list is the prevention of tooth decay.
You can heal cavities, in many ways, as they are primarily caused by Streptococcus mutans. Oil pulling with coconut oil fights this infection by penetrating the plaque and cleans this bacteria away. A 20 minute oil pull daily is not only great for your teeth, leaving them white, feeling clean and bacteria free, but it also has high levels of healthy lauric acid.

Once the decay has started you can also remineralize your teeth with a combination of ghee and fermented cod liver oil. Some years ago I tried this on my son’s molar and it worked great. The dentist said my son had a spot that he wanted to “watch.” At the next visit, after rubbing this combination on his tooth at bedtime, it was completely gone. Around that time our family moved to all raw grass-fed milk products and have never even had a mention of a cavity since. The taste is of Cod liver Oil is not going to win any contests, but I hear the chocolate is great. We heard that from my good friend after purchasing the mint :/ which is ok.

Pictured below are my bottles of oils, Mountain Rose Herbs is also another brand and probably my favorite. We have purchased many oils over the years and have gravitated to Mountain Rose brand due to their testing and purity.


Another wonderful way to leave your mouth clean, refreshed and cavity free is to regularly use clove oil. Clove oil has antimicrobial, anti-fungal and antiseptic properties.
Just a reminder that fluoride toothpaste is toxic and you should avoid the popular commercial brands as they contain fluoride. Instead we use homemade toothpaste made with clove oil, coconut oil, and baking soda. I make a batch about once monthly and alternate between adding peppermint and clove oil. I then pop it in a little plastic BPA free containers and we are set for the month.
I hope this was informative,

Psalm 57:3-5
3He will send from heaven and save me; He reproaches him who tramples upon me. Selah. God will send forth His lovingkindness and His truth. 4My soul is among lions; I must lie among those who breathe forth fire, Even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows And their tongue a sharp sword. 5Be exalted above the heavens, O God; Let Your glory be above all the earth.…

Original works copyright Melissa@joearnold 2017
Here are other articles in this series if you are interested:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@joearnold/wow-i-had-no-idea-make-your-own-antibiotics-to-eradicate-bacteria-like-mrsa

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@joearnold/did-you-know-that-doctors-and-scientist-state-that-70-80-of-your-immune-system-is-located-in-the-gut

https://steemit.com/advice/@joearnold/wow-i-had-no-idea-why-real-silverware-was-used-by-my-grandmother-to-keep-the-family-safe

Sort:  

I do sometimes suck/chew on a clove when I'm having tooth or gum problems. I keep meaning to do it more often as a preventative, but forget when the pain or discomfort has gone.

How does your family like the homemade toothpaste? My hubby is fussy. I buy a fluoride free mint toothpaste, but he still goes and gets himself Colgate, because he says it tastes better. I think its more that it tastes like what he's used to.

I understand, so much resistance from childhood/familiarity, I grew up on good old CREST! My husband and family do not look at it as a substitute, just one of the many things we CAN control in this toxic U.S. and 1st world environment!
Thank you for commenting!
Melissa

That's a good way to look at it. Thank you

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @joearnold to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks for stopping buy!