Moderation and balance - My struggle with booze.

in #health3 years ago

image.png

I want to be better. I'm aiming to improve, and to change in the right directions.

I'm looking to drink less booze, and maybe more coffee to motivate. To spend more time on yoga and my honey do list and less on laziness. More time online researching investments and less on social media. I should do more things with the kiddos, maybe trying to get into those tabletop games with them.

I think this December is a good time to try and be better than I have been. Ain't looking yet to quit any bad habits entirely, but I wanna moderate some things and get closer to balance in my routine. I hate to say it, but I need more structure, and should self impose.

I'm thinking of actually getting a daily planner. That's when you know it's serious.

Drinking was affecting my social life, work life, and mental health. I had to cut waaaaaay back to get my life on track and it wasn't easy.

I found just adding healthy things at first with out actually taking things away intentionally helped me make smarter choices when there was an option.

For example, if I have a salad with my lunch and do a yoga session in the morning, I'm more likely to grab water or tea in the afternoon instead of mixing a cocktail because I don't want to undo what I did. I'm not telling myself I'm not allowed to have cocktails in this instance.

And most of the time that I do want to grab a drink, I sit with myself for a little bit first now and examine what is happening in my body. There is normally the same feeling behind it and it is some combination of anxiety and frustration. When I find that is the driving force, I try to find other ways to deal with it now.