Intermittent Fasting Week 2 Completed Losing 6 pounds

in #health4 years ago

The previous week, I mentioned about how I lost pounds, dealing with cravings and also my overall goal with it, Intermittent Fasting Journey Week 1 completed. this week, I am dealing with different issues and this post will be talking about it.
image.png

After writing my first journey, I got a new intermittent fasting partner @silversaver888. It is very motivating to have an accountable partner to do this. It also makes me aware and more disciplined towards my journey. So, thank you for that !

image.png

My biggest issue this week has been my sleeping pattern. Weight loss has always seem to mess up with my sleeping pattern. I am extremely lucky that we have work from home and study from home activities. So, I can sleep as much as 8 hours without minding that I have to be present at another place. However, some days it is very difficult to get it through 12 PM without feeling a pang of hunger. Some days it was easy because I sleep through the AM but some days this week, I have been constantly waking up at 2 AM and did a lot of activities before even 12. I also went to bed slightly earlier about 9 PM and waking up at around 2 Am. It was hard for me to get a full night 8 hours of sleep.

That sleeping issue has been impacting part of my appetite and mood. Sometimes, I wake up late and was way too lazy to eat a healthy break fasting. Instead, I opt for straight big meal. This week I have also lessen my rice intake and got to learn more about things that causes my acid reflux. With opting for bigger meal, I tend to be much more hungrier than when I eat a healthy break fasting. So, that is partly why I saw fluctuations in my weight. Instead losing the weight, I was gaining some. However, when I went into the scale today, I was losing 6.6 pounds.

The curve goes up and then down. I learn that it's part of the weight loss process but I am very happy that now I can set a new setting stone to lose more in the following week.

So this week, my end result is losing in total 6.6 pounds

I did that without having a strict eating regime. I eat almost whatever I want and have some snacks here and there. But there were days I was only eating less than 1000 calories/day.

What did I eat during the feeding hour in the last 7 days ?

below is my typical breakfast. I did this from day 1 to 2 until my eating habit changed.

image.png

This was my meal dated 20/8/2020

image.png

21/08/2020 I started losing my healthier habit

All I ate was cabbage, chicken, vegetable fritters and also coffee.

22/08/2020 I am back into healthier eating habit. Oatmeal, banana and coffee

image.png

I also eat pan-seared spanish mackerel

image.png

The following day, I don't eat any break fasting. I opted for a heavy meal which consisted of chicken, vegetable fritters and a bit of rice (sent me directly to sleep) and acid reflux. Yes. It sent me to sleep and acid reflux flaring up, probably due excessive oil in the fritters.

23/8/2020 Break fasting today : porridge and tempe. I also walked about 30 minutes in the morning. That's where I got the porridge and 2 pieces of fried tempe,

23/8/2020 My big meal was pan seared tilapia with oily vegetable stir fried I got from outside.
image.png

24/8/2020 No breakfast today. Another unhealthy habit. This lead me ate chicken thigh, a wing and also this savory lasagna. But on top of that, I went outside for more than 60 minutes.

image.png

25/8/2020 Another unhealthy day ! no break fasting and I straight up eating a huge meal. consisting of fried drumstick, bit of rice and also fried cat fish.


From that meal journal, I learned that I can make better decision when I have breakfast instead of straight having a huge meal before 8 PM. I also notice that hunger is inevitable. Sometimes, it's really hard to control the hunger even with water and green tea. One of those days, I got acid reflux because of that but I learned my lesson not to have any teas that might trigger my acid reflux. For me, it would be best to have turmeric tea or non-caffeinated tea before any meal. I also add a bit more physical activities into my life which is a new regime and very fun to do.

The following week, I hope I can add more exercises and learned from my mistakes which includes not eating food that may trigger my bad acid reflux. I am still genuinely wonder if I can reach my goal weight by December. I intend to lose 40 pounds which means now, I have about 34 pounds to go. Wish me luck on my journey and I will keep coming with my fasting week completion each week every early Wednesday GMT +7.

You can find my previous journey here :
Intermittent Fasting Journey Week 1 completed

~ Mac

Sort:  

One thing that I know about weight loss is that there are always adjustments to make. I simply can't eat the same 6 things day after day (well, unless it's cheeseburgers but this is about weight loss :)) so I have to find things that work and things that don't.

Looks to me like you are doing really well, and I'm glad you have a partner to hold you to it. Good on you!

Yeah, eating the same thing can be a bit boring though I genuinely love my oatmeal. Sometimes, due my mood swings and laziness, I skipped eating them cause they take time to prepare. Boiling the water, oatmeal, garnishing them to make it look appetizing etc but yeah. I am loving my journey thus far. If you are ever into intermittent fasting journey too, let us know ! we'll be your accountable IF partner.

I eat a lot of oatmeal. But never cooked :) I mix oatmeal with Greek yogurt for a relatively healthy sweet snack, probably average every other day with that. I also use oatmeal in my bread machine for taste and texture. I probably go through a kilo a month...

Good luck - slow and steady will help you achieve your goal, but don't be too hard on yourself! this post is making me hungry... @riverflows.

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Six pounds in one week is a nice accomplishment. It looks like the foods you are eating are a balanced. I too have acid reflux. The medicine I took is now banned, so I'm waiting for my doctor's visit in September to try a more natural way to reduce my reflux.

Thanks for sharing.

Good luck with your acid reflux ! I normally take meds called ranitidin.

Me too, but that has now been banned.

There is a lot to be said about paying attention to how you eat your food not just what you eat.
When we incorporated a ketogenic type of eating to our diet it was far more effective when we also included intermittent fasting.

I try to lessen my carb intake for sure.