Alcoholism - It's No Laughing Matter

in #health6 years ago

Happy Birthday Alcoholics Anonymous

source

There's Nothing Funny about being Drunk
Alcohol has changed the lives of millions of people for the worse


Lives have been lost to health problems brought on by excess drinking; jobs have been lost and families have been broken.

Drunk-driving crashes claim more than 10,000 lives per year. These deaths and damages can contribute to a cost of more than 40B per year.

source

June 10, 1935, Dr. Robert Smith took his last drink of alcohol.
He and Bill Wilson then began the association we know as AA.


Source: Today in History - TIH App

Today AA has Members around the World, including Cuba and Iran

It is not easy to start a group, but God leads. I see it and feel it always and everywhere.

source

line fancy.JPG

source

Researchers in National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)'s Division of Intramural Clinical and Basic Research (DICBR) seek to unravel the biological basis of alcohol use disorder (AUD) and related problems, and to develop new strategies for treatment and prevention. source

Learn more about the intramural research program and staff from the above link, including valuable resources.

Have a fun Summer but drink sensibly.

Sort:  

I hate drinking. I know alcohol is a bad thing.
.
.
So, I just destroy it in my gut.

I admit I enjoy a very cold beer on a very hot day. But I certainly keep it cool on the refills.

Cheers! I am having rum while posting this comment! This is hilarious!

AA has been a life saver for so many people who realized they needed help with their problem. Unfortunately before help can be given, those who have a problem with alcohol, must recognize there is one and seek the help.