Believe your Inner Voice.

in #health2 years ago (edited)



I never liked having to go to see doctors. I am pretty sure it came from being an infant and having to get casts on both legs. I was born with club feet. When my parents adopted me, they took over the cost and time to get my legs fixed. When you are under the age of one, you grow fast. Growing fast meant the casts had to be changed every few weeks to help my legs grow straight and strong like everyone else.

I do not remember wearing the casts. I do remember having to walk up and down the corridor of the doctor's office while he looked on to make sure I was walking straight.

When taking care of my mom this year, she told me the story about how I would start screaming and panicking when she would carry me down long hallways, say into a changing room. She informed me I would start crying and kept saying the word 'no.'

Mom ended up talking to a nurse about this behavior. The nurse told her that I was reliving having to go alone down the long corridor to get my cast changed. Back in the day, your parents did not always accompany you when doctors did things that might upset your parents.

When little, just before falling asleep, I had full-blown panic attacks every so often while lying in bed. I will go out on a limb and say this had a lot to do with getting my cast taken off and put back on.



Life moved on.



I blossomed early. I also had horrendous endometriosis that went untreated until I was in my twenties. Once I finally got diagnosed with endometriosis, they started me on all kinds of treatments to help me be able to function each month.

Unfortunately, my body and most medications do not mix. I am okay with that because when growing up, many of my friends became addicted to many illegal drugs. Drugs just made me sick. I stayed out of a lot of trouble because of this.

I have a list of drugs doctors have tried on me for endometriosis and fibromyalgia. None of them worked for me. It made me sicker. It gave me full-blown panic attacks and other horrible side effects.

I learned in my early twenties to stand up for myself and my body with doctors. I knew that we were all made different. Certain drugs would work for a friend and make me want to die.

I learned to know my body inside and out. Each change. Each feeling. Some of the medications doctors tried to use on me were fine for the first few weeks, but the longer I took it, the medication would change how it interacted with my body. It would sneak up on me and start to make me sick. I had to be vigilant.





I also learned through this process that doctors play a guessing game with our bodies.

Yes, they have the schooling and nohow to be a detective with our bodies. If you forget to relay significant symptoms to your doctor, they can not make the best diagnosis possible.

The United States healthcare system is treated as a business. When you book an appointment to see a doctor, you are allowed about four minutes with that doctor. No one can give you their full attention when they know in 3 minutes they need to see their next patient unless they want to fall behind and have to work overtime.



image.png



On April 22, 2021, my health took a massive downturn. Not being in excellent health initially, this new development was alarming.

In contrast, the doctor I had been seeing for the last ten years had gotten me to a place where I could function most days. He never kept looking for new ideas that could help me have a fuller life. My husband wasn't happy with how my health was doing either and wanted me to fix it.

I did a ton of research on finding a new doctor. I looked for an opened minded doctor. One that would look at my case in a different light and maybe be able to give me more of my life back. Sound too good to be true? It was.

I have just spent the better part of a year in Hell because of the new doctor I had trusted with my life.

You can read more about her unwillingness to listen and help me here and here.





Today I finally took matters back into my own hands. I called my old doctor and went in today and asked for his help. He was appalled at what I had been dealing with. He was visibly upset about how I had been treated and, in turn, how his treatment for me was called into question.

Many good things came out of my doctor's visit today. I received refills on all the medicians that have, over the years, helped me to function at a higher level than I can when not taking them.

The doctor reexamined my case with new eyes. He knows my history and, with that knowledge, picked out flaws in my case and areas we can explore to improve for me.

After the year I had with doctors and the horrible things they said and assumed about me, I almost did not attend my appointment today. I had a full-blown panic attack while waiting for my sister-in-law to pick me up and take me to my appointment. I could not have taken any more disappointment from Doctors. I was way beyond my limit.

I was starting to believe all the horrible things being said about me even when I knew they were not true. These feelings go back to learning to love yourself and believe in yourself. The easy way is to believe in all the horribleness people will say about you.

The most challenging path is to believe you are in the right and fight for what you know is right.

You need to be your warrior. You deserve the best of the best. You deserve someone that knows you inside and out, fighting for you.

Only one person fits that bill.

YOU!



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



Dancer: Photo by Pixabay

Doctor: Photo by cottonbro

Sunrise: Photo by Pixabay

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

I am glad that you are now on the right track to healing. Yesterday I had a conversation with my granddaughter who is now 21. She was telling me that she needed to see a dentist but is having panic attacks because of the way she was treated when she saw them as a child. She said they never believed her when she told them that the novocaine was not working, she was not numb. Her mother would take her to different dentists and each time she said it happen so she got to where she refused to go. Doctors need to listen, even if you are a child.

the novocaine was not working, she was not numb.

I had that when a dentist tried to fill a cavity of mine. The poor dentist kept adding more novocaine, and I could still feel him drilling on parts of my tooth! He finally filled my cavity, but he was a ball of sweat, and so was I by the time we were done!!

All the Doctors really need to listen to patients. We know our bodies.

Thank you for your wonderful comment!!

yes, they do need to listen. Also, you are welcome.

I have become so frustrated with allopathic doctors that I have started going to a naturopath. Our health care system is really a sick care system. Insurance won't pay for anything that prevents illness or supports good health, but will pay for terrible treatments once a person gets sick. Long ago, I theorized that every health care provider thinks inside a box, and the trick is to find the one who thinks inside the box that contains solutions to my problem. I am still working on that, and beginning to wonder if I'll find the right person before I get old and die. I haven't given up completely! I do hope your old doctor is able to help you get back on track again.

I hear you!!

Keep looking for someone that listens!!
Praying for you!

I am already feeling 150% better. Plus we have new this to test and look at. So fingers crossed.

I am happy that things are getting better for you.. after that long road of misery. Everyone deserves to be treated fairly without being considered a criminal for wanting health care that works for you.

You are correct, people need to stand up for themselves in regards to their healthcare. No one else will. You will be taken advantage of and ignored for the most part.

You will be taken advantage of and ignored for the most part.

and degraded and made to feel like you are an idiot. It's horrible out there.
Thanks for being YOU!

Give em hell Lady... take no prisoners

The difference is staggering Shadows!

I am in awe of how horrible I was feeling compared to today. I am not 100% by any means but I AM ME! I have missed me!!

I will be more careful from now on!

Hey Snook... meet ME... you two knew each other.

Snook

I just took like three huge sighs of relief.

You have no idea how happy this post makes me. I am SO THRILLED you went back to at least get to a place where you were able to cope with this "new normal" that is so very "not normal".

You've been through a lot - and it hasn't gotten easier since that date. I just reconnected with someone day who had a similar "date" as you. (read between the lines.) lol and i can't believe the change I've seen in a year.

they look so sick :(

i hope that the world gets healthier soon. We need to recover from all the stresses of things - fully. I am believing good things for this year. starting today! I'm working out today (heading out for a nice walk first... and then proper exercise later!) and today - you got your appointment!!! see?? today!!!

and... hehehe (it my birfday) LOL

so this is when the new year starts. next birthday lets have a victory story!!!!! i love you - i'm so so glad that you're back with the previous doctor.

SO am I!

I am very6 happy I found a way to get there and didn't chicken out. It was a close thing.

But I had a ride, cuz the truck is now broken...., and it was now or never, and I hated me yesterday. Hated everything I was feeling for the last 6 months.

I REALLY hope you are having the best day ever!

HUGS!

i had the best day ever

but today is the best day ever also.
hehehehehehe

"I also learned through this process that doctors play a guessing game with our bodies.

Yes, they have the schooling and nohow to be a detective with our bodies. If you forget to relay significant symptoms to your doctor, they can not make the best diagnosis possible.

The United States healthcare system is treated as a business. When you book an appointment to see a doctor, you are allowed about four minutes with that doctor. No one can give you their full attention when they know in 3 minutes they need to see their next patient unless they want to fall behind and have to work overtime."

😢

I'm so sorry to hear of your tough journey, Snook. But I somehow knew it.

I think it's past due we had a chat when you have time, please. I have a lot of information that I think may help you heal even more ❤️

Thanks! I am enjoying being me today :D

I have lots to catch up on...... I have been gone way too long from the real world.

Keep being you!

Ditto, sister.

The world will adjust...

Welcome back to the real internet world!

Okay, so the medical industrial complex along with the pharmaceutical industrial complex conspire to create customers, not cures @snook.
And not only that, but remember when you say that they have studied the medical profession and are doing experimentation that things could always be worse, remember that the doctors and medical professionals were experimenting on the people in the 1600s, and the good news is that they cannot poke unnecessary holes in you and see how long you can live hahahahahahaha!!!
I am so glad that you have advanced to the point you have, I myself have removed myself from most of the meds they have been giving me.
Ever see one of those little fat blue fish out of the water? That's me sometimes hahahahahahaha!!!!

Are you feeling any better??? I will definitely be praying that everything will be as it should soon!

every day is a journey and I try and find the positive things in each day.

Thank you. I can use all the prayers!!

Hugs

That's all we really can do :) ... Enjoy your day ♥️