Not the best of weeks.

in #health4 years ago

Well actually it wasn't a bad week at all but the events of the past 4 months caught up with me and I've been mentally exhausted. Up until last Thursday the Stav household was facing a future with no work based income. Mrs Stav was also due to be without work from next month - far from great! Thankfully she aced an interview last week and has something sorted for September.

Although elated, the worry of our current situation caught up with me last week and it was all rather odd. I didn't feel particularly unwell but had no energy and struggled to concentrate on the most simple of tasks. I've not really done any study and my only real progress was getting a few job applications out; even watching TV was a struggle. The job applications only ended up going out as I knew it was essential. I could have literally stayed in bed and slept from Thursday through to Sunday. Thankfully things started to return to normal yesterday.

So, change is needed so I managed to drag my backside out of bed just after 5 this morning and head out for a run. A bloody miracle!

manrunning1508617304822.jpg

Source

My thing with exercise is that if I don't get it done first thing, family and other stuff takes over and it just doesn't happen. I can make time in the evening but I'm very self conscious about how I look and there are quite a lot of peeps about at that time of day. They're mostly far beyond retirement age and really couldn't care less about a fat bloke wobbling up the street, but my brain is a funny ol' thing.

I'm (once again) starting the Couch to 5k program and aim to get up early 3 mornings a week to get out before I walk the dog. Unfortunately our Lola isn't really compatible with running as she stops for a sniff ever 5 meters. My first outing went pretty well but I'm surprised how difficult I found it. I think I covered about 2 miles in my 30 mins of exercise and the aim of the program is to get me running 5k within that 30 minute window. That'll be a bloody miracle as I think the fastest I've ever run a 5k is 40 minutes.

I think the below is a solid illustration of how my back is feeling now due to running with a little too much weight but I'm sure I can get that stretched out.

6804830955_8523bace69_k.jpg

Source

If you don't see me again for a few days it'll be because I've not managed to get myself off the floor again :)

Sort:  

Strange times. Hope you, Mrs Stav and the rest of the Stavs have a good week. and if you can't get off the floor I hope it's comfy. 😀 Take care.

We certainly feel to be heading towards a better week. The school holidays start next week, not that it makes much difference, but that means the wife and kids are free from any studying/school work. Selfishly that means I'll be able to focus on job hunting and training a little more!

At least you got out. Need to get the kids into running :) I can get how the current situation is getting people down. There can be a lack of things to look forward to and times may get tough. Need to keep finding inspiration.

Gosh, I can't imagine what it would be like heading out with the kids. I think eldest would get bored within 30 seconds and youngest would be far too fast!