You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Harvesting and Making :: creative ways to utilize your herbs

in #herbalism3 years ago

I had read it was better to store herbs in as close to their whole state (meaning whole leaves) as possible. This reduces the oxidation that destroys the nutrients. Then pulverize at time of use.

I sort of compromise on this because of limited storage space. I leave the parts whole, but they are packed into the jars. Then the jar is vacuum sealed. I have to use a dehydrator here as during summer the humidity is in the 80's and 90's percent. The dried material is immediately put into jars from the still warm dehydrator and sealed, thereby retaining the 5% dryness level. Anything higher could mold or raise botulism in a sealed jar.

I am often envious of those who can dry and store herbs without the technology I have to use.

Sort:  

You are totally correct! I should have clarified - I recommend breaking down the herbs so that they are easy to use for cooking, most herbs I store in their whole state in my apothecary - definitely a good theme for an upcoming post!

And wow you have a lot of processes to keep your herbs good but, i am sure it is worth the work! When I am at my parent's place in California, the climate is so dry that none of that is necessary. But now back in Argentina I have noticed that many herbs i stored in paper bags are getting moldy - time to rethink my storing situation!

Best of luck & happy gardening!

Yes, that is exactly what I would run into here, molding in storage, irregardless of how they are stored, unless bone dry and vacuum sealed.