Sort:  

Really cool @apshamilton,
I'm voting your witness and will also set @futuremind (my main account) to vote your witness.

How well does Ubuntu perform stacked up against the node on Windows? Just a curiosity based question. Is there any noticeable difference(s)?

Thanks for the witness votes.

Well the Windows node is running on a faster machine (faster CPU, lots more RAM and much faster SSDs) so I can't really make a comparison.

Up until recently the Windows machine was slower but that was because the shared memory file wasn't pointing to the right place and it was using SSD rather than RAM for shared memory.

Now that that is fixed it is much faster. Slightly faster than the Linux machine I think but I'd have to do proper testing.

It's a pleasure, thank you as well for all the support and engagement.

Well the Windows node is running on a faster machine (faster CPU, lots more RAM and much faster SSDs) so I can't really make a comparison.

It makes sense that you would run the more resource hungry OS on the faster machine.

Up until recently the Windows machine was slower but that was because the shared memory file wasn't pointing to the right place and it was using SSD rather than RAM for shared memory.

Now that that is fixed it is much faster. Slightly faster than the Linux machine I think but I'd have to do proper testing.

Oh yeah, I can envision how this fix would make a substantial difference, albeit it's only from a comprehensive understanding of how the hardware works, as I've never run a node, but I find it fascinating and perhaps I will run one eventually.

I wonder if two virtual machines can be run on one machine, hosting two different OS's, with the purpose to test how Windows handles the node compared to Linux. I imagine there would need to be some good reasons to perform this other than just benchmarks though, because of the amount of work and time involved.

The main reason for my curiosity is because I'm wondering if Linux is the better option for running a node, and since you run one on both Linux and Windows, I can't think of a better person to ask :)

I will pay close attention to your progress with all of this.

Well its a lot simpler to get a Hive witness node running on Linux.

On Windows the Hive witness node is running on Windows subsystem for Linux 2 (WSL2) so its also really running on Linux.

WSL2 allows Windows to run Linux apps natively.

The point of running it on Windows is that I need to have a Windows machine for other purposes and Windows is still the most popular OS so its important to be able to run a Hive node on it.

See details in this post: https://peakd.com/witness/@apshamilton/how-to-set-up-a-hive-witness-in-windows-10-using-wsl-2-and-docker-desktop-for-windows

@apshamilton, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!

Stereo, what are you talking about, I don't hear anything. Hahah

Stereo can refer to stereophonic or stereoscopic. This is the later.
Why did you downvote the post?

Because I didn't ever hear of stereoscopic, so since you told me I'll remove it.