Childhood memories in A Sandwich

in Club of Sandwicheslast year (edited)

On Saturday afternoon I felt a bit lazy, cooking was just out of the question, and Silver Mamma Chef's Kitchen was closed for the day.
So... I decided to make "egg and mayonnaise sandwiches"

This sandwich is one of my favorites and takes me back a good few decades to my childhood at school and would like to share it with you.

It was a regular treat in my lunch-box back then; Oh boy!...and my teacher's worst nightmare.

I used to sneak a bite behind my desktop during lessons...too impatient to wait for break time which seemed so far away for me, everyone in the class knew when I opened my desk, the aroma from the egg went wafting through the air around the classroom, Lol! creating havoc amongst my class-mates.

One day, Miss Ross, my teacher at the time, caught me red-handed...Oh boy!...was I in trouble.
"Cheryl...have you opened your lunch box again"? she screamed out agitated.
I thought she was going to pop a vein in her neck...carried on like a bloody fish wife for at least a full five minutes...I mean...I couldn't understand what the fuss was all about, after all...it was just a egg and mayo sandwich and I couldn't resist it at that moment.

Well...it didn't end well at all that day, egg sandwiches were banned in our class... I was threatened with detention after school, 1...for eating in class, 2... for disrupting the class, and 3... I was never to bring egg mayo sandwiches to school ever again while in Miss Ross's class.

So peanut butter and jam sandwiches.became the order of the day. It was better than staying for detention. Lol!

I still had my Egg Mayo Sandwiches after school for lunch, and could enjoy them quite happily without any complaints from "Miss Ross" or my class mates Hehe!

sandwich 1.jpg
Well!...today I thought I'd make my Egg and Mayo Sandwich a little different than when I was a child.
I added a bit of lettuce, onion and tomato with a sprinkle of celery leaves.

egg and salad.jpg
I felt a little industrious and made some plaited homemade bread.

bread.jpg
It's really quite easy to make, just a normal bread dough recipe, instead of the regular form...I plaited the dough.

egg.jpg
Mash egg with fork and add all the salad ingredients with a tablespoon of mayonnaise.
Very quick and easy.
Thumbs up to John Montagu, the 4th Earl of Sandwich, the inventor of the notorious sandwich which makes life a little easier when it comes to dinner.

salad.jpg
It really is my comfort food...so delicious. Omg...don't forget the salt and pepper.

sandwich 2.jpg
I hope you enjoy your "Egg and Mayonnaise Sandwich" as much as I do.

I'm off to see what Silver Mamma Chef is up to in her kitchen for dinner.

Until next time "Bon Appetit".

untitled.gif


image.png

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @artywink ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Garfield!! Now lasagne conjures up all sorts of memories. So does Garfield but as for the sandwich - your looks delicious and worthy of making memories - however my very basic sandwich memory. Marmite on dry toast. Whenever I was sick as a child I knew my mother would bring me marmite on dry toast. And somehow.....not only did it comfort me but seemed to fix me better than any doctor's prescription

😂😂😂

I guess we all did that at school, I mean eating during hours but I have never been caught though 😇

"Egg and Mayonnaise Sandwich" is 😍😍😍

Thank you @erikah for stopping by, my egg sandwiches always got me in trouble, it was the smell Lol!
Have a great day.

Thank you, you too :)

It looks delicious to start the day 😋

It is @edwing357 thank you for stopping by.

I'm already going to prepare some for breakfast 🥪🥪🥪👨🏻‍🍳

Greetings 👋😃, happy and blessed day ✨.

You too @edwing357 enjoy.
Have a great breakfast.

Thank you 🍽️😊

This is awesome and like most "classics" it doesn't need much to make a mouth watering delight in between two slices of bread... Your's is proof of that. Yummy!


Thanks a lot Cheryl, always a pleasure to see your participation here!

Thank you @hive-100059, I just love taking part, northing like a good old sandwich.
Have a good and awesome day.

 last year  

How did I miss this delicious smelly egg mayo sarmie my friend?
That salad must have added real oomph, yummmm!
I tried everything under the sun when making school sandwiches for the boys, to get rid of that smell, but nothing worked!
Miss Ross must have had a 'sensitive' nose.
Sounds like young Cheryl was quite the rebel! 😜😂😂😂

Unfortunately I was a terrible child, parents didn't know about ADHD in those days Lol!
Thanks my friend for stopping by.