TeleTuesday - Taking a Jazzy break from the country in the country

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I've been doing #teletuesday for a while now with a focus on country stuff. It was fun for a while but.. well it's country music.

Not too long ago I took a trip with the in-laws to country Victoria to stay for 3 nights. While I was there I found a tutorial
for this Jazz Blues solo and decided to learn it quietly in a corner. Doing this meant I didn't get too involved in the general discussions on the weather and where to get the next coffee and what outtings we needed to go on, whilst still being in the room and technically part of it. I'm no great improvisor and don't really enjoy doing it, but being able to solo over a Jazz Blues in on my bucket list. I've been practicing dominant 7 arpegios over blues in different keys, but am finding it quite difficult.

There is nothing improvised about this. I just learned it not for note and have fun playing it. One of these days I might give improv a crack and post it, but until then I'll just learn other peoples stuff and enjoy that process.

Cheers People!

Oh yeah. Got the covid vaccination. Lived to tell the tale so far.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Sounds jazzy to me. Did you pick up on what was fitting over particular chords? I do attempt improvisation and I quite like some solos I've don't but I struggle beyond blues stuff. I need to put in the time to work on those skills. Need to find the right tutorials. Some are a bit dry as they have you learning lots of scales. That may be useful, but I want to play some music. Many great improvisers don't know all the theory. Have to know what will sound good.

Good for you on the vaccination. I've had mine.

Rock on!

!LUV !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@gtown! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

When I listen to the explanation in YouTube clips I understand the theory with the chord changes with the the I, IV and V, turnarounds, adding diminished between the I and the IV. ... however, doing it in real time I just get lost. I think it's just a practice thing. Sometimes with jazz improv I try and just make it up in my head without thinking of scales and chords. That's a bit hit and miss and is usually quite linier. Again, a practice thing.

This is one tutorial I did from Guitar World that I did find useful.

The whole vaccine thing here in AU is a bit of a cluster pluck. The government has done a really good job of keeping the virus out, but have really dropped the ball on vaccinations. So we keep going into lockdowns while it seems other developed countries are starting to open up again.

Haha that is how I feel about family gatherings as well. I just want to noodle on a guitar instead.

The guitar is a great social shield! You're there, you're apart of things, but you're kind of busy too.

Just so the volume knob on the amp doesn't accidentally slip an you become the star of the show. I knew a blues guy that would do that at parties where he would crank the amp way to high at social gatherings and clear out the place when all they wanted to hear was soft low volume chord strumming.

@gtown, you were given LUV from @steevc. About LUV: https://peakd.com/@luvshares

Jazz music represents freedom of expression, the mystical experience of the present moment
and the brotherhood between all human beings regardless of their gender, beliefs or skin color.


Dibujo jazz cabecera Hive pequeño.jpg

Hey Javier, I've heard rumors of this jazz utopia. I've never found it, I just look lost and confused. Love listening and working out other peoples songs and solos, but my freedom of expression is just dipping it's toe in the cold cold jazz ocean at the moment. 😁

This is so cool😍. I guess I ll use your video to practice some more Jazz Blues fills.
Thanks for sharing.. I can't wait for your next upload🙌🎸🎸

Thanks David. There is something really cool about a jazz blues. I need to pull these solos apart and work out where to put things so I can stick them back together and improvise.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Excellent work man! Really love that tone!

I've been trying to improve my improvisation skills and that kind of jam is great for that

My brain bleeds a bit trying to follow chord changes. I've been working on improv over this progression for a while but still struggle with moving from on arpeggio to another.

Great jazzy dude ! there is a nice tone in that telecaster 👍

Very nice and pleasing to the ears. :) One of these days, I will get myself an electric guitar and learn this. :)

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@gtown! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)


Congratulations @gtown!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!