Sort:  

I looked at the photo before I read the post. I quite like the knot. Gives it character.
I can't remember seeing a wooden scratch plate before, you'll have to share a link to what you want that to look like. Wooden toilet seats seem like a bit of a splinter risk to me.

@gtown Here's a shot of the wood pickguard, way better looking than the swirly plastic.
20210228_090700.jpg
It has some birds eye figuring

20210228_090714.jpg

Oh, I understand. This guitar is important to you. Nice to meet you, @sketch.and.jam
Thank you for participating in the #saturdaymemories initiative.

Thanks for setting up #saturdaymemories :-)

That sounds great. I don't think a guitar has to be 'perfect' wood. I know there are big issues with how much ebony gets thrown away because it is not totally black. A knot is no issue if it is not in an important place. I would not even mind a guitar with holes in it :)

I have a friend here who only likes guitars that look like they were made out of an old door or table, anything with paint or fancy wood he shuns for some reason lol. Have you ever watched this documentary? https://variety.com/2018/film/news/carmine-street-guitars-documentary-1202883133/

It's about a guy in NY who looks for old wood out of places getting torn down then he makes guitars out of them. Pretty fun show for guitar nerds like me.

I've not heard of that one, but will look out for it.

After watching, it makes you want to build a new guitar out of reclaimed wood.