Tele Tuesday: Steve sings Nena!

in Guitar4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Not too long ago I finished watching the German science fiction series Dark on Netflix. The show had some cool music and over the closing credits they played this song by Nena, who are mainly known in the UK for their big hit 99 Red Balloons. This one, Irgendwie, Irgendwo, Irgendwann (Anyplace, anywhere, any time), was from the same period and very apt for a show involving time travel with parts set in the eighties. When I heard it I knew I had to attempt it, but it has taken me a while to get around to it. I performed it for our local on-line open mic at the weekend to some bemusement. Unfortunately our one German member was not on what session. I saw her later and she knew the song well. She told me there was a version by Nena and Kim Wilde (who lives near here). That is worth seeking out.

I expect some of my German friends such as @detlev and @uwelang will also know the song. I hope I did not spoil it too much. I do speak German having lived there, but I do not get much practice. Singing in another language can be a good way to improve. I did fluff one or two lines, but this was after several takes and my weak right hand was struggling a bit to hold the pick.

I performed this with my Benford custom Telecaster through a Zoom G3X straight into my M-Audio interface. Microphone is an MXL 990.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hey @steevc that was as well a big hit in Germany.

What else as a !BEER could I do for you

I don't remember it being played in the UK, but it's a fun song. I see there have been lots of covers of it.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You have a great German pronunciation mate - the song is indeed very famous here and I love the remake with the two old girls :-).

Cheers. It's 30 years since I lived there, so it must have stuck in my brain.

!ENGAGE 10

Honestly - real good!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

A very well known song in Germany but also in other countries like The Netherlands.
Especially the version together with Kim Wilde (mixed German and English) was successful in other countries than Germany.

Good old times :)

Thanks for sharing and

HIVE ON!!!

Songs in German very rarely get played on UK radio, so I had not heard this at all that I know of. I am open to all kinds of music.

!ENGAGE 10

Here is the English/German mixed version together with Kim Wilde:

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice job! I haven't gotten around to finishing Dark yet. I got to the beginning of Season 2 and then I got preoccupied with other things I do remember the music through the whole thing being pretty awesome. I will have to finish it up sometime soon. Maybe once the weather starts getting colder.

Cheers.

I like that they completed the story after 3 seasons instead of dragging it out for longer. I more or less followed the various threads, but sometimes got mixed up on who was who at various ages.

Umbrella Accademy has some cool music too with alternative covers of songs at the ends of episodes.

!ENGAGE 10

That is on my queue, but I haven't gotten to it. There was a season of Grey's that they did all covers of 80's songs. It was really cool.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.