Matt Andersen in my former hometown

in Guitar3 years ago

image.png
Source

I have written earlier about Matt Andersen, a canadian Singer Songwriter with a amazing voice and musicality. I 'fell in love' with his music several years ago, together with one of my best friends Rien.


Source

During corona we joined a online stream of a gig he gave back in Canada and it was awesome. in 2020 Matt would come to Holland again but like a lot of artist (and more) Matt couldn't come to Europe because of Covid of course. His performances have been moved to the end of 2021. I saw that he only gave one concert in the Netherlands, in Rotterdam. That is a reasonable distance from our home and I thought there should be another way. In Zutphen we have a great concert hall, De Buitensocieteit. It is a classic hall with balconies and a great atmosphere. I thought to myself, if Matt could play here, that would be great. So I was so cheeky and wrote an email to his management, whether there would be any interest in playing an extra day in a great concert hall in the Netherlands. Then I also sent an email to the concert hall to see if they have the option at all on the relevant date. From the venue I got the answer that the space was there and that (I had added a number of links to Matt's music) they were very enthusiastic. So far so good .... I then got an answer from his manager that he also saw opportunities and that I had to contact the Dutch booker, he is responsible for Matt's performance in the Netherlands. I did that and after some checks I got an answer that Matt has the opportunity to take care of the performance ... How cool is that ...

Besides the fact that Matt is a great artist and I'm sure we will get the place full, maybe in the future more artists like this will come to Zutphen, a small town with a lot of musical potential. Totally awesome.


Source
I did send to his management that I want a meet and greet when it goes through;)

Have a great weekend !!!

Greeting,
Peter

Sort:  

I saw at some point last year Volbeat was supposed to be at a small venue a couple of hours away from me. I almost tried to get tickets for the show. I am glad I didn't now because it would have been cancelled due to Covid, but maybe at some point in the future I can see them! I hope you are able to do the meet and greet with Matt!

I hope you still got to see them in the near future, especially in a smaller venue. That would be awesome. Have a great weekend @bozz !!