Паук-Волк № 1 / Wolf Spider № 1

in Arachnids2 years ago

DSC_0487.JPG

English
Русский

Yesterday I walked into my kitchen and saw this large female wolf spider sitting in the middle of the floor. I've seen many wolf spiders in my life, so I didn't need to get close enough to look into her eyes (wolf spiders have a very distinct eye arrangement), but upon staring her in the face, my assumption was verified. This is a Carolina Wolf Spider, based on her size, colouration, and geographic area. The scientific name is Hogna carolinensis, but I've been an amateur arachnologist for so long that I can remember when it was called Lycosa carolinensis.
Вчера я зашёл на мою кухню и увидел эту большую самку паука-волка, сидящую посреди пола. Я видел много пауков-волков в моей жизни, поэтому мне не нужно было подходить достаточно близко, чтобы посмотреть ей в глаза (у пауков-волков очень отчетливое расположение глаз), но, посмотрев ей в лицо, мое предположение подтвердилось. Это каролинский паук-волк, судя по её размеру, окраске и географическому району. Научное название - Хогна каролиненсис, но я так долго был арахнологом, что могу вспомнить, когда это называлось Лыкоса каролиненсис.

DSC_0488.JPG

In case you can't see well enough, this is what a wolf spider's face looks like:
На случай, если вы недостаточно хорошо видите, вот как выглядит лицо паука-волка:

изображение_2022-05-06_225810554.png

The eye arrangement is similar all throughout the taxonomic superfamily Lycosoidea, contained within which are the families Lycosidae (wolf spiders), Ctenidae (wandering spiders), and Pisauridae (fishing spiders), among others. Wolf spiders are distinguished from the other two families by having larger anterior median eyes. Wolf spiders also have excellent vision by arachnid standards. Only huntsman spiders (Sparassidae) and jumping spiders (Salticidae) have better vision. I assure you that when I did this:
Расположение глаз аналогично во всём таксономическом надсемействе Лыкосойдеа, в которое входят семейства Лыкосиды (пауки-волки), Ктениды (пауки-блуждающие) и Писауриды (пауки-рыболовы), среди прочих. Пауки-волки отличаются от двух других семейств большими передними срединными глазами. Пауки-волки также обладают отличным зрением по стандартам арахнидов. Только пауки-охотники (Спарассиды) и пауки-скакуны (Салтикиды) обладают лучшим зрением. Уверяю вас, что когда я это сделал:

DSC_0491.JPG

...she saw my hand in excellent, albeit monochromatic detail. Why she chose not to move until I after I already shot several more photos, I cannot say. Perhaps she finally got annoyed with the torch I used to get the autofocus to work. I really need to make a torch bracket for my camera.
...она увидела мою руку в превосходных, хотя и монохромных деталях. Почему она решила не двигаться до тех пор, пока я не сделаю ещё несколько фотографий, я не могу сказать. Возможно, её в конце концов разозлил фонарик, который я использовал, чтобы заставить автофокус работать. Мне действительно нужно сделать кронштейн для фонарика для моей фотоаппарата.

DSC_0489.JPG

DSC_0490.JPG

I also installed my improvised macro lens and tried to get some close-up shots, but this is the only decent one:
Я также установил мой импровизированный макрообъектив и попытался сделать несколько снимков крупным планом, но это единственный приличный фото:

DSC_0493.JPG

Perhaps she'll be back, and I'll get some better close-up shots. If not, I'm sure I'll encounter more wolf spiders, which is why I'm numbering them from now on. I see jumping spiders, fishing spiders, and various orb weavers far more frequently, though.
Возможно, она вернуться, и я получу несколько снимков крупным планом получше. Если нет, я уверен, что столкнусь с другими пауками-волками, поэтому с этого момента я их нумерую. Однако я гораздо чаще вижу пауков-скакунов, пауков-рыболов и различных пауков-кругопрядов.
Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Awesome spood post as always! I can see why this species was first placed in Lycosa, she is massive. I can't wait to see what else lurks around your area!

Thanks to comparative gemonic analysis, a lot of the local fauna has been reclassified in the past few years, not just spiders. I don't think my local fishing spiders (Dolomedes tenebrosus) have been reclassified, but it's been a while since I checked. The first of them have come out of hibernation, so I'll probably share more pictures of them soon!