A CONTEST about a contest!

in TheTerminal3 years ago

Contests seem to be appreciated on Hive. Many people seem to have fun participating and its a great way to earn a little extra HIVE in prizes! I participated in a contest after only being on the blockchain a month, and remember how stoked I was to win first place and get a few SBD (yeah, back in the legacy days) added to my wallet! It was definitely something that motivated me to stay with the platform and remain active!

It occurred to me recently that there might be Redfish and Minnows on the platform that would enjoy running their own contest but lack funds to give as prizes. So, here is an idea to help remedy that situation.


image source: Joshua Golde on Unsplash.com

Call for Submissions:

If you would like to create and run your own contest, write a post on the Hive blockchain about that contest. You pick the theme. Tell me how you will run the contest and how you will accept submissions. Tell me how you will judge the contest (whether by yourself, or with a panel-of-judges). Tell me how you will pick the winners. Tell me how you will assign the prizes (1st/2nd/3rd-place winners, or one-winner plus runners-up, etc.) totalling 35 HIVE. That's it!

The person whose contest idea impresses me the most will be declared the winner and will receive 5 HIVE. That winner must then write their own contest post. Upon successfully running their contest, picking the winners, and writing their post announcing those winners, I will transfer 35 HIVE in prizes to the winners they pick. The winner of my contest mentioned in this post will then receive an extra 20 HIVE of their own (25 HIVE, total) for successful completion of their contest!

Eligibility:

  • Must have less than 5000 HP in your wallet (Redfish & Minnows only!)
  • Must have less than 50 liquid HIVE and HBD in your wallet
  • Must have a Reputation Score over 25

The Rules:

  • Must write a post on the Hive blockchain about your contest
  • Must place a link to your post in a comment on this post
  • Must have a winning entry to earn the 5 HIVE
  • Must run your own contest & pick winners of the 35 HIVE prize money
  • Must write a post announcing those winners to earn the extra 20 HIVE

Disclaimer:

My judging of this contest will be completely subjective, of course. I reserve the right to disqualify an entrant based on my perception of their wallet's status. For instance, someone may have less than 50 HIVE in their wallet simply because they recently PoweredUp some HIVE or transferred funds to an outside exchange. And, of course, what "impresses me" is entirely subjective, too.

So, tell me about the contest you'd like to run!


(You have until this post pays-out to respond!)


 😊


         



04-Mar-2021

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 46 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Awesome contest!!!

untitled.gif

How cool! And I hope May will take up the baton
Good luck to all the contestants

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

That's a great initiative @thekittygirl. Surprisingly, running contests are very difficult on Hive, due to the low participation rate which is always mind boggling for me. Contest are a great way to meet new people amd often many of the prizes aren't that difficult to win. Hopefully you will get many entries to this one to help red fish and minnows host their first one.

I have yet to understand why contest participation is low on Hive, as a whole. The weekly contest run by @ladiesofhive, however, always has excellent participation, with 30 or 40 entries every week! Not sure what the difference is, but it's great!

What a fabulous idea Kitty!!

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Dear @thekittygirl

This is a contest to definitely look out for and I am sure many people are definitely going to participate more in it

Yours, Piotr