Fascinating Insects - Gasteruption jaculator - Evanioidea - family Gasteruptiidae

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago

Fascinating Insects - Gasteruption jaculator - Evanioidea - family Gasteruptiidae .

When I look at some insects and learn about their lifestyle, I understand where the ideas for writing science fiction movie scripts come from.

The theme of parasites that lay their eggs in the bodies of living beings is widely discussed in the film Aliens.

Even the appearance of Alpha reminds me of an insect called the Gasteruption jaculator.

This is a small insect with a very strange body structure.

Its abdomen is crowned with a long sting-ovipositor.

With its help, Evanioidea finds loopholes in the chitinous coat of other insects and injects a portion of eggs into the insect's body, of which. larvae develop.

As you know, the larvae feed on the flesh of their host.

Among the Gasteruptiidae species, there are those who parasitize on cockroaches, but this species - Gasteruption jaculator, parasitizes wasps and bees.

If, you, a formidable wasp, or a hornet, armed to the teeth, you still have someone to fear.

There is always a risk that, on your back. will jump like a cowboy on a horse, a small but dangerous robber.

20190814090641.jpg

I was photographing butterflies when I saw a black insect with a long appendage behind the abdomen.

1a.jpg

I was familiar with some representatives of this family, but I had to clarify information about this interesting insect.

2a.jpg

There really were a lot of bees and wasps, and I think it was an ambush.

3a.jpg

The appearance is indeed very formidable!

4a.jpg

I could not find information on what this insect eats, but I suppose that it is pollen of flowers, and, only in the state of a larva, they are carnivorous, but perhaps he was looking for aphids in flowers, I do not know for sure.

5a.jpg

I was able to take photographs from different angles that give an idea of ​​Gasteruption jaculator.

Happy viewing!

6a.jpg

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
I edited a photo in the program PhotoDirector, which I also installed on my smartphone.

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg