I've never seen anything like this before (ID Please)

garden_macro_02_017.jpg

Today in the UK, it's one of those early summer days that a quite hot, I'm not one for the heat, however, I have been out as the good thing about this weather is the abundance of different creatures you can find, just by going in the garden.

One of the most unusual things I found today, was this on the picture above, to put it's size into perspective, the leaf that is on is a Rosemary leaf, so as you know, they aren't the largest leaves in the world. Anyhow, while I was looking for photography subjects, I saw this on the rosemary and I initially thought it was a small slug (with the naked eye), it wasn't until I'd took a shot then I realised it has legs.

I've been looking on google, and can't really find anything matching this, the nearest thing I can come up with is that it's some sort of larvae of some kind.

I'm based in the South Yorkshire region of the UK, and I just wondered if anyone else has seen anything like this or knows what it is?

I thought I'd share a few more pics from today, not my best work, but I like the shots.

garden_macro_053.jpg
I've had to crop this, as didn't see it when I took the shot, but can you see the little yellow creature in the middle of the flower?

garden_macro_051.jpg
Bumble Bee

garden_macro_047.jpg
I think this is some sort of flying ant, initially I thought it was a wasp, but looking at the hairs on it and it's head, it looks like an ant to myself (image slightly blurred).

Sorry for the lack of ID on these creatures, I am still learning, but Macro photography has certainly brought me closer to nature and I have a new found respect for it, as it seams every creature does something beneficial for the environment.

All shots taken by myself, using a Sigma 105mm F2.8 Macro Lens, with additional help (at least on the first shot) with the Raynox 250, shot using a Sony A7iii camera.

Sort:  

You might get some answers on https://www.reddit.com/r/whatsthisbug/ if no one here knows. Very strange indeed!

Hey Darren! Fab pictures as always.

As far as ID goes, you almost had it! It looks like a type of Larvae for a Beetle, and the plant it is on is Rosemary. I searched for Rosemary Beetle Larvae and I found this, which makes it the larvae of a Rosemary Beetle :-)

Keep an eye on it, as the adult form is quite striking.

Your other tiny yellow insect I believe is a type of Globular Springtail, but I don't know which one. Well spotted though as they are genuinely tiny!

Dunno what your last one is (flying ant) but it looks more like a Mining Bee (Andrena sp) to me, they can be hairy close-up

Hi Dan, thanks ever so much for the info, will definitely keep an eye out for the Rosemary Beetle. I wasn't sure on the flying ant one, but it was the hairs on the rear of the insect that convinced me it was a ant as it looks very similar to what's on the brown ants on the garden, but I'm no expert so may well be wrong lol.

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

That's interesting. I would like to share something I've seen recently in Russia. We took a walk with my wife and we saw this on the trees :

20210516_190150.jpg

I never seen something like that before. They were also falling from trees like rain. Maybe something strange is happening with the planet. I don't know what's that. First time seeing that during my 36 years of life. ☺

You seem to be using older or Legacy version of Ecency!
Please install newest version to get most out of Ecency!

Try Fastest web interface: https://ecency.com
Android: https://android.ecency.com
APK file
iOS: https://ios.ecency.com
Desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Congratulations @darrenflinders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!