Day of the Butterfly

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago

1header.jpg

A few days ago I was informed that this insect community existed, so when I saw butterflies fluttering about today I had no choice but to grab the camera and go for a Butterfly Extravaganza so I could share it here! 😁🦋

1butterfly.jpg

Today, after my son and I completed his daily School-at-Home tasks -- which went much better than it did yesterday, thankfully! -- we took a stroll outside and discovered the mass of butterflies awaiting us.

1butterfly2.jpg

This one, and my header, are my favourite photos of the bunch.

I took about 300 photos of these fluttery things but there were only ten or so I considered decent enough to edit and share, then I further narrowed them down to a select few. 😀

1butterfly3.jpg

There's a little tiny butterfly in this one, as well as the two big ones.

1butterfly4.jpg

This little guy is missing a small chunk of his wings. 😯

1butterflycamo.jpg

And this guy has mastered the art of camouflage! 😁

1beeeeee.jpg

As well as butterflies, there were bees!

Unfortunately I'm not skilled enough to get a good photo of those little guys yet -- maybe one day. 😊🐝 The only clear photo I got was this one with his bum facing me, haha!

It's autumn here at the moment and we've been getting lots of butterfly visitors lately. I don't recall ever seeing as many as I've been seeing right now so it's always a welcome sight. 🦋

 

Thank you for stopping by! 🦋😊

 


All photos courtesy of me, @kaelci, taken with a Nikon D5000 with 55-200mm lens.

Sort:  

Enchanting pictures and very beautiful species. With three hundred pictures you must have had a lot of fun taking photos.

Thank you! I'm not sure what species they are, but we have a lot of them here...

*After writing that I just had a quick investigation, and apparently they are the Caper White Butterfly 😃

Unfortunately my camera's lens viewer isn't calibrated correctly so I have to guess a little and hope that I get it right. As a result I end up taking the same photo in quick succession, adjusting the focus for each shot. It very quickly adds up!

But it's okay. I enjoy the experience of being out there taking photos. 😊

Well done, and welcome to "Fascinating Insects"! :)

Thank you for introducing me to the community! :D