Our biggest Dragonfly family!

249.JPG
Come and see how the female "Emperors lay their eggs in this post today!

This is the "Blue Emperor"(Anax imperator) of the "Anisoptera" family. This Anisoptera family contains 6 species of which the "Aeshnidae" has the biggest dragonflies. Large to very large.
Come and see their breeding factory here.

I took this rare photo from my FB page, as it is my own photo and you can see two female Blue Emperors in a double egg laying action.
Blue Emperor twin egg lay 18 February 2019.jpg

The following photos were taken yesterday and it was a Blue Emperor lady that posed for me during her egg laying period.
Interesting in this photo you can also see a Masai Sprite Damselfly male at the left of the picture.
231.JPG

Here below is the little Masai Sprite Damselfly (Pseudagrion massaicum) in flight on the water.
Note: Damselflies are NOT Dragonflies!
206.JPG

Now this is a much clearer view of the Emperor dragonfly egg laying ceremony.
The term is called "ovipositing"
243.JPG

She was ovipositing (egg-laying) all along under the edge of the water plant leaf, as you will see in the photos below.
245.JPG

247.JPG

248.JPG

251.JPG

I am thankful that I could get so many egg laying poses on camera, but I have also meant this post as an education medium, as I see that so many still make the mistake to cite damselflies as dragonflies in their posts.
"Odonata" is the term that classifies the Dragonfly and Damselies as an Order, but they are two separate sub-orders namely Dragonflies= Anisoptera and Damselflies=Zygoptera.

For those that are interested in the Odonata insects, the links below are a good place to start.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragonfly
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Damselfly

And That's All Fiends

Note: All photos are my own and taken with a Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the story and the photos.

Thank you for your kind support of this post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thank you for the kind support #ecency

Amazing post, I’m a complete ignorant on dragonflies... only thing I know about them is that they’re beautiful 💗 thanks for sharing

Thank you.
The first time that I had to take photos of anything was in 2001 when we started the Papillon charity.
People wanted to see what do at the charity, so I bought a small camera.
I have always been a nature lover, but photography was new for me so, I asked a chinese friend for some advice.
He suggested that I shouls start to take photos of dragonflies. What????
In fact his exact words were, "If you can get good shots of dragonflies in flight, then you can get anything"

He was right and it took me about a year to get things right after many struggles. In the meantime I also learned much abour dragonflies and they are very interesting subjects.
Did you know that they spend 90% of their lives under the water?

Some over here spend 7 years as nymphs underwater and only 3 - 4 months in the air.

Some over here spend 7 years as nymphs underwater and only 3 - 4 months in the air.

Wooow that's insane, I had no idea. Such a mysterious and wonderful world this is 💚

Agreed, mother nature holds many secrets and it is always amazing when one starts to investigate.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @fenngen, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Beautiful shots. Since I am into insect, hunting them in the wood or any place that I possibly find them, especially the dragonfly but I never see such this amazing dragonfly around here. I guess, it does not live in tropical country like mine, if it does, I determine to find them... Thank for sharing the beautiful pieces of nature

Thank you and maybe the Emperors are also in your country?
If you Google your country name and "Dragonfly species here", you will see all of the dragonflies in your country.
It is also interesting to learn about them, as they are wonderful creatures.

Good shot, and beautiful dragonfly :)

Dragonflies really like water, so if in the forest where there is stagnant water, especially if there is a lot of moss there are dragonflies.

Thank you and yes, dragonflies are born in water and they spend most of their life in water, until they change into dragonflies.
We also heve them right here in our garden at home.

About two years ago, one of the big dragonflies we have here was chasing me by flying towards me for quite a while. I don't know the name of the dragonfly, but it had yellow and black stripes like a big wasp. I didn't mind that much, because in size it might have been like the Masai Sprite Damselfly you show above, but seeing the photos of your Blue Emperor dragonflies I think I would have run 😁

Cool post as always, Zac, and although I have already seen so many of your huge insects on your blog, I am still and always impressed 😀

I hope you're having a nice Sunday, my friend 🔆


Cheers with !BEER and
cheers with !WINE
!invest_vote

The Blue Emperor is not the biggest in the big family Hannes, there are two others in the same family that's bigger than him.
Malaysia has the biggest in the "Aeshnids" family, as their ""Tetracanthagyna plagiata" is the biggest dragonfly in the world.
A close second biggest is here and it's called the "Black Emperor" of which I have a photo somewhere.

The Blue Emperor in my post is the best flyer, as their ranges spread across continents, so maybe one can fly from here to Austria with a message for the mountain goat 🤣

You say that the "dragonfly" that chased you was about the size of a wasp, but you sound like a fisherman that explains the size of his catch, as I think it was a slight bit bigger than a fly 😜

Blessings and hope that you guys will make the best of your imposed rest.

Cheers and thanks!

Our people from the air defense will certainly make big eyes when the dragonfly crosses the border to Austria 😁

Nope, not the size of a wasp, but the colors of a wasp: yellow and black stripes. It must have had about the size of the Damselfly you showed in the picture. Fishing is boring and I have never met a Fisherman who didn't lie about the fish he has caught 🤣


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Hahaha, I think that the dragonflies will come in under the radar, so if you see a bunch of air defense guys running for their lives down the road, you must know that the dragonflies are chasing them.

Fishing is boring you say, if I didn't fish for so many years, I would not have the patience that I have today with my camera.
Btw. It's might only be boring if you don't catch any fish. I caught 80 carps in a river in one morning.
Don't know if I showed you this? It was my PB (Personal best)
fishing_.jpeg

Cheers and thanks!

Oh, that's a huge one, congratulations - you didn't photoshop it bigger, did you? 😂

When I was a boy, fishing wasn't boring at all, because we had to hide behind bushed and trees that nobody saw us fishing. We didn't catch any fish anyway, but it was big fun 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Hahaha, I wish that I had photoshop Hannes.
I had a perfect plan and had many wonderful days there. Until the flood that we were trapped in of course.

I bet that you had fun as boys and I can still remember how often my bum was burning after a hiding 🤣

Cheers and thanks!

Haha, no burning bum, but a smiling dad showing us what to do to catch the fishes ... next time alone we still didn't manage to catch any fish 🐠😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @papilloncharity.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 23782.000 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice shots and really beautiful photography.

Thank you kindly and glad that you liked it my friend.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @sreypov, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.