Insect Finds this Weekend

Here are a few insect finds from this weekend.
P8088841.jpg
First, I spotted a honeybee on some echinacea.

P8088887.jpg
Next, I found quite a few Familiar Bluets.
P8088895.jpg
Here's a shot of a different one's face.
P8088906.jpg
I also saw a glimpse of a Pearl Crescent Butterfly. Sadly this is the only shot I was able to get of this tiny butterfly. They are super skittish.

P8088869.jpg
Next, I found a Carolina Locust. These are a really large camouflage grasshopper that looks like a butterfly when it is flying.
P8088871.jpg
Quite a few monarchs were out as well.
P8088875.jpg
Monarchs are always good posers for photos.
P8088879.jpg
Finally there were a ton of water striders out on a river area. I almost fell in the mud trying to get closer shots of these guys lol.

Sort:  

These are AWESOME. Bravo:)

Thanks, it was a nice day for the insects. Hot and muggy really brings them out lol.

Love the Bluets!

There were quite a few out, I know there are three subtle different species around here as well, I'm sure I saw a couple different kinds out.

These are fantastic photos!! You captured so many lovely insects in a day! It’s rare for me to see dragonflies these days! Very sad!

They probably hang out deep in the countryside with the mosquitos.

Oh! No! They should keep better companies than those ganster mosquitoes!!

They are gangsters over the mosquitos since they eat mosquitos. Tricky tradeoff, more mosquitos equals more dragonflies, womp.

Oh! So I need to get some dragonflies!! I must check out the mall next week!!