Visiting the Hives

in Fascinating Insects2 years ago (edited)

20220806_104736 copy.jpg
I recently took a trip to a local show farm with bee hives. They had a little model of the whole farm showing where the pastures, barns, house and hives are located.

P8067591 copy.jpg
On this day they were demonstrating separating oats from the chaff out in the field. At this farm they like to be as historic as possible in their farming methods.

P7107345 copy.jpg
Now for the real reason I came here. The bees were loving the flower gardens and the honey they make here is from wildflowers out in the prairie.

P8067541 copy.jpg
Their honey house was open and they were harvesting some of the hives. Here is one panel from one of their bee boxes.

P8067539 copy.jpg
They use a hot knife to slice off the wax covering on the honeycombs then they spin the combs in a machine to extract the honey.

P8067542 copy.jpg
They had some different hives on display like this old fashioned basket hive. I doubt you can get much honey out of a tiny hive like this, but it should help with pollination of your crops.

P8067538 copy.jpg
Here is a carpenter bee house. I've seen @solominer building these for various sizes of resin bees. Though they don't produce honey they are quite useful pollinators.

P8067540 copy.jpg
Here is a paper wasp nest, they are also good pollinators that aren't too agressive.

P8067579 copy.jpg
Now outside of the honey house it was a hot humid day but it was nice for photos.

P8067580 copy.jpg
Here is the main barn, I usually like to visit the chickens but they had them in their roosts this time for fear of bird flu that's been going around.

P8067574 copy.jpg
Here is where they put the bee boxes. They have access to lots of wildflowers as well as some gardens and fruit tree orchards. This makes their honey taste really unique and fruity.

PSX_20220809_071609.jpg
They don't produce too much honey here but whenever they are in stock I like to get some. The wildflower taste is complex compared to clover honey and works really well with tea. All this thanks to the busy little bees and farmers.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

🤣 I thought you bought a drone when I saw the thumbnail. Interesting seeing the different hives. We had some paper wasps nests on our house. I always thought they were very aggressive but I checked the all knowing google and it says only when you disturb their nest. I guess thats the only interaction I have ever had with them lol I should get to know my local pollenators better.

Ha I wish I had a drone. It would be a very pristine lawn if that was a drone photo. So far the only problems I've had with wasps were from ground nesting ones that seem to attack unprovoked.

That looks like a great place to visit! I would enjoy seeing the chickens and the bee hive area. I love the little model of the farm! That is so cool - we have one of our neighborhood project as well. Thanks for sharing all the cool photos - where is this farm located?

Looks like quite a project you have going on. I like your shipping container tower. This farm is located in northern illinois.

Super cool! Yea, we always have something going on around here. Tower 1 of 3...so far. 😉

Wonderful you visited their farm and could see part of the process. The old bee hive is pretty cool 😎
I bet the honey taste really nice.
🐝🐝🐝

The honey almost has a pineapple lemon apple taste to it from mixing all the different wildflower pollen together.

That’s sounds interesting… 😊
Great mix!

I am very impressed with this hanging beehive. Good job my brother

They are productive little critters. I think one bee can only produce half a teaspoon of honey.

Glad you mentioned the solitary bees.. Yep that is correct they do not produce any honey, only collect pollen. Probably why they are so friendly.

I do not think carpenter bees make homes in those, only mason, leafcutter and resin bees. Maybe I am wrong, but carpenter bees tend to make their own holes and do not like to use preexisting ones like only mason, leafcutter and resin bees do.

I may try and set up a resin bee house on my balcony to see what kinds are around here. I suspect all the carpenter bees like the stalky plants in the prairies.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

it was really enjoyable, thanks for the sharing effort

Thanks for looking :-)

I made myself a reserve for the winter. I bought 7 kg of honey from a local good beekeeper. I sell him rabbits, and he sells me honey in the fall!

Is it wildflower honey? Or a single crop sort of honey? What kind of rabbits do you have?

This is honey from wildflowers. We don't have any specific honey plantings here.

I have rabbits of the Californian breed.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @apnigrich, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 17000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 17500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners

that was fascinating. love honey always make a drink every morning with lemon and ginger taste great and felt good after too.

Bee pollen is useful too as a supplement.

Bee pollen never heard of it will Google it later thanks for the recommendation

I loved the opening photo, I love scale models. Then I was hooked by the story and the rest of the photos. Very good post.

I'll be posting some of the sheep I found there too, they had plenty of grassland pastures there to graze.